SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 35

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize former State Representative Rene Oliveira for his many years of service as a Texas legislator; and

WHEREAS, Rene Oliveira served with distinction for many years as an esteemed legislator in the Texas House of Representatives, and he has long been an advocate for increasing public school funding, expanding job opportunities, improving water conditions in the colonias, increasing minority presence at Texas universities, and ensuring the cleanliness of the state's beaches and park spaces; and

WHEREAS, First elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 1981, Rene Oliveira served on numerous committees over the years and in leadership positions including chairman of the Committees on Land and Resource Management, Ways and Means, and Economic Development; and

WHEREAS, A highly esteemed Brownsville citizen, he is the father of two children and a graduate of The University of Texas School of Law; he has enjoyed a successful career as a senior partner at Roerig, Oliveira, and Fisher, a law firm based in Brownsville and McAllen, where his broad-ranging specialties include such areas as insurance defense, family law, and criminal law; and

WHEREAS, A dedicated public servant, Rene Oliveira has upheld the highest ideals of service as a Texas legislator, and he can reflect with pride on his distinguished career of service to the people of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to Rene Oliveira for his outstanding leadership and years of exceptional service as a member of the Texas House of Representatives and extend to him best wishes in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Lucio

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 29, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate