SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 243

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Baylor University men's basketball team, which won the 2021 National Collegiate Athletic Association championship title on April 5; and

WHEREAS, The Baylor Bears won the first men's basketball national championship in the school's history by defeating the previously unbeaten and top-ranked Gonzaga University Bulldogs by a score of 86-70 in a game in which the Bears dominated the opposition from the opening tip; and

WHEREAS, The Bears participated in the Final Four for the first time since 1950 and won five out of six games in the tournament by double digits; Jared Butler was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, and Davion Mitchell was the recipient of the National Association of Basketball Coaches Defensive Player of the Year award; and

WHEREAS, Under the exceptional leadership of head coach Scott Drew, the Bears recorded 10 wins against teams ranked in the Associated Press Top-25 and finished the season with a record of 28-2; team members can take great pride in their fine performances over the course of a season that posed the unique challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, Winning a national championship is a formidable task that requires countless hours of dedication and hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and all associated with the Bears' basketball team deserve accolades for their historic achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend the Baylor University men's basketball team on its outstanding season and extend congratulations to the team's players, coaches, and staff on winning the 2021 National Collegiate Athletic Association championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Birdwell

Paxton Alvarado Hinojosa Bettencourt Huffman Perry Poweil Hughes Blanco Buckingham Johnson Schwertner Campbell Kolkhorst Seliger Creighton Lucio Springer Eckhardt Menéndez Taylor Gutierrez Miles West Hall Nelson Whitmire Hancock Nichols Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 13, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate