## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 25

WHEREAS, Dallas Area Rapid Transit is celebrating the 40th anniversary of its founding on August 16, 2023, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to recognize the agency for its vital contributions to the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex; and

vital contributions to the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex; and WHEREAS, Created on August 13, 1983, as a replacement for the Dallas Transit System, the DART regional transit agency serves a 700-square-mile area that includes Dallas as well as 12 surrounding communities: Addison, Carrollton, Cockrell Hill, Farmers Branch, Garland, Glenn Heights, Highland Park, Irving, Richardson, Rowlett, Plano, and University Park; and

WHEREAS, DART offers a variety of transit options, such as bus routes, DART Light Rail, Trinity Railway Express commuter rail, and GoLink on-demand and paratransit services; transporting more than 220,000 passengers each day, the system encompasses a fleet of nearly 700 buses and the longest light rail system in the U.S.; moreover, the DART Police Department is one of the largest police departments in North Texas; and

WHEREAS, True to its mission, DART provides a system of innovative, affordable, reliable, and safe mobility options that contributes to the quality of life and economic vitality in the region, and it is indispensable to the transportation infrastructure in Dallas and beyond; now, therefore, be it

infrastructure in Dallas and beyond; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th
Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commemorate the 40th
anniversary of Dallas Area Rapid Transit and extend to the agency
sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for DART as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

| Johnson, Hall, Parker, West   |
|---|
|   |
| Member, Texas Senate  |
| Member, Texas Senate  |
| President of the Senate  I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 11, 2023. |
|   |

Secretary of the Senate