SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 51

WHEREAS, Laura Hill has been named a recipient of a 2023 Distinguished Alumni Award by the Pine Tree Independent School District Education Foundation; and

WHEREAS, The Distinguished Alumni Award celebrates former students who have made significant contributions to society and whose accomplishments and careers have brought distinction to the school district; and

WHEREAS, A member of the Class of 1977, Laura Hill presently holds the office of director of grant and human services for the City of Longview, and she was the director of community services from 2005 to 2022; she has further distinguished herself as a founding member and the current board secretary of Arts!Longview; the organization oversees a 320-acre cultural district designated by the Texas Commission on the Arts that includes museums, restaurants, parks, and historic buildings and that serves as a setting for live music and theater performances; the exceptional efforts of Arts!Longview have nurtured the city's creative community and inspired a love of arts, history, and culture among area residents; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Hill holds a master's degree in public administration from The University of Texas at Tyler and a master's degree in romance languages, literature, and linguistics; and

WHEREAS, The accomplishments of noteworthy alumni are a source of great pride to all those associated with Pine Tree ISD, and Laura Hill is indeed deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 51

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Laura Hill on her receipt of a 2023 Distinguished Alumni Award from the Pine Tree Independent School District Education Foundation and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Ms. Hill as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on October 26, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate