H.R. No. 27

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The boys' high school cross country team from the 2 Slidell Independent School District closed out an unforgettable 3 season by winning the 1A title at the 2023 University 4 Interscholastic League Cross Country State Championships; and

5 WHEREAS, After previously securing the regional crown, the 6 Greyhounds joined the other top competitors in Texas on November 3 7 at Old Settlers Park in Round Rock; the Slidell runners turned in an 8 exceptional effort at the state meet, landing four runners in the 9 top 20 and claiming the 1A championship with a total of 73 points; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Slidell was led by eighth-place finisher Joshua 12 Garvin, who crossed the line in 17 minutes, 30.7 seconds, and by ninth-place runner Manny Peralta, who recorded a time of 17:36.8; 13 14 Riddik Davis was 15th in 17:57.8, Fabian Gonzalez finished 18th in 18:09.4, and Christian Torres placed 23rd at 18:16.7; also 15 16 delivering impressive performances for the Greyhounds were Caden Luig at 19:02.9 and Alan Redondo at 19:03.7; these determined 17 student-athletes were ably guided by head coach Casey Pierce; and 18

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and the Slidell Greyhounds will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the rest of their lives; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

1

H.R. No. 27

Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate the boys' high school cross country team from Slidell ISD on winning the 1A title at the 2023 UIL Cross Country State Championships and extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the Greyhounds as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Stucky

H.R. No. 27

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 27 was adopted by the House on November 17, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House