H.C.R. No. 59

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Brazoswood High School boys' and girls' water 2 polo players turned in exceptional performances at the 2022 3 University Interscholastic League Water Polo State Tournament, 4 held on October 29 in San Antonio, earning a place among the state's 5 elite teams in the sport's first year of UIL competition; and

6 WHEREAS, The Brazoswood boys' team claimed the District 12-6A title and then continued to excel with a series of wins during the 7 postseason; in the regional finals, the Buccaneers notched a 15-13 8 victory over Dawson High School to advance to the state tournament; 9 the team faced off against Southlake Carroll High in the 6A 10 11 semifinals and recorded a dramatic 16-14 win; that set the stage for 12 a showdown with Boerne Champion High in the finals, with Brazoswood emerging triumphant by the decisive score of 19-10 to take the 13 14 inaugural 6A title; and

WHEREAS, The district champion Brazoswood girls were also unstoppable on the road to the state tournament and dispatched Cypress Ranch 13-7 in the regional final to punch their ticket to San Antonio; there, the Buccaneers bested Northside Brandeis High 15-4 to reach the finals, and they ultimately finished as runner-up after a hard-fought loss to Richmond Foster High School; and

21 WHEREAS, Anthony Sury paced the Brazoswood boys as the 22 championship match Most Valuable Player, and Mason Potter and 23 Jayden Arana joined him on the All-Tournament Team; the Buccaneers 24 also received vital contributions from the other members of the

1

H.C.R. No. 59

roster: Ethan Lower, Braylon Ponzi, Sean Brown, Luke Mixon, Jack
Lower, Brady James, Landon Castor, Jackson Cobb, Zeyad Chouai,
Kasen Corn, Collin Pyeatt, Hayden Donley, Michael Johnson, Ben
Gonzalez, and Nathan Napoli; and

5 WHEREAS, The Brazoswood girls were led by All-Tournament Team selections Gigi Lower and Mallory Kesler and benefited from the 6 determined efforts of the other Buccaneers: Minnie Tran, Jaycie 7 Fort, Sarah Gambrel, Sarah Mitterling, Maria Afonso, Sidney Slater, 8 Emma Meservy, Alex Sparkman, Allie Jones, Victoria Martin, Kendall 9 10 Dane, Michelle Ebey, Mallory Varga, Anna Reuschle, and Hannah Poore-Pekar; these talented student-athletes were guided by head 11 coach Robert Brown and assistant coach Kiel Haner; and 12

13 WHEREAS, The Brazoswood water polo teams are a source of 14 great pride to their community, and it is indeed a pleasure to join 15 in recognizing their achievements; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the 88th Legislature of the State of Texas 17 hereby congratulate the Brazoswood High School boys' and girls' 18 water polo teams on their exceptional performances at the 2022 UIL 19 Water Polo State Tournament and extend to the Buccaneers sincere 20 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the teams as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives and Senate.

Vasut

2

H.C.R. No. 59

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 59 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2023, by the following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 0, 2 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 59 was adopted by the Senate on March 21, 2023, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor