By: Guillen H.C.R. No. 83

Substitute the following for H.C.R. No. 83:

By: Ashby C.S.H.C.R. No. 83

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, More than a century ago, peanut farming became

2 integral to the economy of Floresville, and the city's residents

3 have long embraced the area's most famous cash crop as an indelible

4 part of the community's culture and heritage; and

5 WHEREAS, Situated 30 miles southeast of San Antonio,

6 Floresville was founded in 1867, and it became the seat of Wilson

7 County in 1873; agriculture was the backbone of the local economy

8 from the outset, and beginning in the 1910s, cotton and livestock

9 gave way to an important new crop: peanuts; and

10 WHEREAS, Pioneering growers such as Joe T. Sheehy realized

that peanuts were well-suited to the sandy soil of the region, and

12 the legume quickly became the area's main agricultural commodity;

13 by the 1930s, more than 150 farmers in the county were involved in

14 the business, leading residents to informally refer to Floresville

15 as the state's "peanut capital"; and

16 WHEREAS, To celebrate the importance of the crop, the

17 inaugural Floresville Peanut Festival was staged in 1938, and more

18 than eight decades later, it remains the city's signature event;

19 over 10,000 people attend the celebration each October, enjoying

20 parades, pageants, the Goober Games, and myriad other activities;

21 and

11

22 WHEREAS, Floresville's strong historical and commercial

23 association with the peanut has been a source of great pride for

24 generations of area residents, and it is indeed deserving of

C.S.H.C.R. No. 83

- 1 special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the 88th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 3 hereby designate Floresville as the official Peanut Capital of
- 4 Texas; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That, in accordance with the provisions of Section
- 6 391.003(e), Government Code, this designation remain in effect
- 7 until the 10th anniversary of the date this resolution is finally
- 8 passed by the legislature.