## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The DeSoto High School football team reached the
- 2 pinnacle of success by winning the 2022 University Interscholastic
- 3 League 6A Division 2 state championship; and
- 4 WHEREAS, After claiming the district title in the regular
- 5 season, DeSoto embarked on a dominant playoff run, defeating
- 6 Pflugerville Weiss, Rockwall Heath, Tomball, and Killeen Harker
- 7 Heights High Schools to reach the semifinals; there, the Eagles
- 8 dispatched Denton Guyer 47-28 to punch their ticket to the state
- 9 final; and
- 10 WHEREAS, DeSoto battled for the crown against Austin
- 11 Vandegrift High School on December 17 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington;
- 12 after a scoreless first quarter, the Eagles scored three touchdowns
- 13 to take a lead into halftime; Vandegrift cut the lead to 21-17 in
- 14 the third quarter, but the Eagles roared back with three more
- 15 touchdowns and held their opponents scoreless for the remainder of
- 16 the game to triumph by the final score of 42-17; in capturing the
- 17 program's second championship, DeSoto became just the fifth school
- 18 to win state titles in spring 7-on-7 and fall 11-man football in the
- 19 same year; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Offensive Most Valuable Player Deondrae Riden Jr.
- 21 ran for 188 yards and 3 touchdowns in the title contest, and
- 22 Defensive MVP Jason Douglas tallied 5.5 tackles and 2 sacks; over
- 23 the course of the team's unforgettable season, the Eagles also
- 24 received valuable contributions from the other members of the

1 roster: Steven Clerkley, Johntay Cook II, Caimon Mathis, Jaden Milliner-Jones, Tre Wisner, Crimson Mathis, Jamarion Ravenell, 2 3 Jaden Trawick, Kristoff Fantroy, Keshaun Jackson, Porter, Jaxson Davis, Cedric Harden Jr., Brian Hollins, Darius 4 Bailey, Marcellis Titus, Je'Shan McCoy, Armirie Williams-Hall, 5 Daylon Singleton, Mario Buford, Makali McKellar, Kevin Jamerson, 6 Akeem Rahsaan, Jai Trawick, Canden Mathis, Bryson Jones, Ja'Shaun 7 8 Wofford, Brandon Booker, Marvin Duffey, Davon Newman, Jamari Laye, Wenston Blair, Aundre Wisner, Devon Jackson, Jeffrey Anders, Wesley 9 10 Hudson, Antron White, Marshall Kirven, Keylan Abrams, Robert Holt, Jaylin Jones, Devon Hawkins-Cain, Kayden McGuire, Cortez Reagor, 11 12 Elijah Garner, Ryan White, David Williams, Caleb Williams, Joel Rowlett, Leon Brigham, Maddox Contreas, Mark Duffey, Jerbralon 13 Stewart, Darien Lurks, Derrick Morris, Dylan Johnson, Xavier 14 15 Atkins, Ronnell McLain, Byron Washington, Vincent Williams, Kendrick Frazier, Michael Head, Angel Diaz, Tristan Bailey, Justus 16 17 Bibles, Blake Echols, Eldren Lavan, Cedamion Burnett, Dahlyn Jones, Caleb Owens, Jirus Guy Jr., Camrien Washington, Brock Wilkins, 18 19 Kameron Credit, Ja'Den Randle, Micah Murray, Jordan Geiger, and 20 Alex Hubbard-Robinson; and 21 WHEREAS, The Eagles were ably guided by head coach and athletic director Claude Mathis, defensive coordinators Kyle Coats 22 and Aaron Babino, offensive coordinators Sean Van de Merghel and 23 24 Charles Williams, and assistant coaches Paul Beattie, Colton Bowen, Rodney Chadwick, William Bryant, LaMarcus Franklin, Kerry Sweeny, 25 26 Donald Miller, Barrett Matthews, Dennis Walker, Hunter McEachern, Warren Seay, Isaac Sandoval, Brian Russell, LeRon George, Joe 27

- 1 Benjamin, Joshua Pryor, Lamontra Frazier, Corey Tucker, and Joseph
- 2 Loyd Jr.; they further benefited from the support of principal
- 3 Jasen Campbell and superintendent Dr. Usamah Rodgers as well as
- 4 athletic trainers David Young, Daniel Dopson, Trevon Jones, and
- 5 Tessa McElroy, and student trainers Victoria Brooks, Zaiya Brown,
- 6 Ciara Cohen, Darnesha Butler, Diamond Davis, Ta'nilah Cox, Jordan
- 7 Edwards, Jadyn Culton, Trinity Gardner, Kyra Davis, Jaya Jackson,
- 8 Jeremy Denson, Torriun Lawrence, Mykenzie Ford, KaReyniti Samples,
- 9 Jordan Frazier, Ireland Sanchez, Aurhiyona Hawkins, Onnyx
- 10 Sandoval, Alahna Johnigan, Dylan Sutter, Parker Johnson, Deja
- 11 Garner-Todd, Julian Mitchell, Louis Vazquez, Dmya Scott, Mikyrian
- 12 Wallace, and Olivia Williams; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The members of the DeSoto High School football team
- 14 demonstrated admirable skill and determination in winning the state
- 15 championship, and memories of this exemplary accomplishment will
- 16 resonate with their fellow students and their many supporters in
- 17 the local community for many years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the DeSoto High School football
- 20 team on winning the 2022 UIL 6A Division 2 state championship and
- 21 extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 22 continued success; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives.

Davis

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby Orr Bailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Landgraf Spiller Cunningham Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Flores Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 20 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2023, by the following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 0, 2 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House