RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Justin Verlander of the Houston Astros has been 2 named the recipient of the 2022 American League Outstanding Pitcher 3 Players Choice Award from the Major League Baseball Players 4 Association; and

5 WHEREAS, Selected by other MLB players for the accolade, Mr. Verlander was also honored as the 2022 AL Comeback Player of the 6 7 Year after returning from elbow surgery on his throwing arm; after sitting out most of the 2020 and 2021 seasons, the 39-year-old ace 8 delivered one of his finest campaigns in 2022, notching a 9 career-best and MLB-leading 1.75 earned run average to set a 10 11 Houston franchise record; he posted an 18-4 record in 28 regular-season starts, and he led the AL in wins, ERA, walks and 12 hits per inning pitched, and opponents batting average; moreover, 13 14 in his 12 starts following a Houston loss, he was 9-0 with a 1.11 ERA; and 15

16 WHEREAS, A crucial component of the Astros' thrilling 17 postseason run in 2022, Mr. Verlander excelled in Game 1 of the 18 American League Championship Series against the New York Yankees; 19 pitching six innings, he recorded 11 strikeouts and allowed just 20 three hits and one walk, becoming the oldest starting pitcher to win 21 an ALCS opener; the 4-2 win sparked Houston's four-game sweep of the 22 Yankees and a coveted berth in the World Series; and

23 WHEREAS, The highlight of Mr. Verlander's 2022 season came on 24 November 3, when he recorded the first World Series win of his

1

1 career in a 3-2 Game 5 decision over the Philadelphia Phillies;
2 competing in his fifth World Series, and making his ninth start, he
3 threw 94 pitches in five innings to stymie the Phillies' offense; he
4 was the fourth-oldest starting pitcher to claim a win in the Fall
5 Classic, and thanks in part to his vital contributions, the Astros
6 went on to secure the World Series title; and

7 WHEREAS, Justin Verlander has earned the lasting respect of 8 his fellow players and the admiration of countless fans across 9 Texas and the nation, and it is indeed a pleasure to join in 10 recognizing him for his exceptional achievements with the Houston 11 Astros; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Justin Verlander on receiving the 2022 American League Outstanding Pitcher Players Choice Award from the Major League Baseball Players Association and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Mr. Verlander as an expression of high regard by the 19 Texas House of Representatives.

Hull

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 28 was adopted by the House on January 18, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House