H.R. No. 32

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Andrews County are gathering in
Austin on January 25, 2023, to celebrate Andrews County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated on the high plains of the Permian Basin, Andrews County was established in 1876 and formally organized in 1910 with Andrews as its county seat; both the city and county are named for Richard Andrews, an early settler and soldier in the revolutionary army and the first man to die in the Texas War for Independence in 1835; and

10 WHEREAS, Andrews County has long been a leader in the 11 ranching industry in Texas, and with widespread use of windmills, 12 it became an important source of cotton and sorghum; it experienced 13 an impressive oil boom during the 1940s and recently underwent the 14 greatest period of growth and development in its history; it 15 remains one of the state's leading producers of oil and gas; and

16 WHEREAS, With unprecedented support from citizens, public 17 officials, and civic organizations in the area, Andrews County 18 hosts the most advanced secure facility for the disposal of Class A, 19 B, and C low-level radioactive waste in the United States; and

20 WHEREAS, The Andrews Independent School District is highly 21 regarded, and its students have earned top honors at numerous 22 University Interscholastic League academic competitions; and

23 WHEREAS, The people of Andrews County enjoy an abundance of 24 recreational opportunities, including the Andrews County Golf

1

1 Course and many exemplary area parks; the county also boasts the 2 annual Wild, Wild West Fest, which celebrates the region's Western 3 heritage; and

WHEREAS, Honoring their history as they embrace the opportunities of the future, the citizens of Andrews County may take great pride in the role their community has played in the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize January 25, 2023, as Andrews County 10 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation 11 sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in 12 Austin.

King of Hemphill

H.R. No. 32

2

H.R. No. 32

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 32

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 32 was adopted by the House on January 25, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House