RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Kathy and Glen Gondo are being recognized at the 2 annual Asia Society Texas Tiger Ball in Houston on March 3, 2023, 3 for their commitment to building friendship and understanding 4 through Japanese culture; and

5 WHEREAS, An inspiring couple known for their philanthropy and 6 civic engagement, Kathy and Glen Gondo met as children in 7 Watsonville, California, and married in 1973; a decade later, they 8 settled in Houston, where they found success through a variety of 9 entrepreneurial endeavors, including the city's first Japanese 10 restaurant, a sushi catering company, grocery-store sushi bars, an 11 international trade business, and an airline catering venture; and

12 WHEREAS, The Gondos are responsible for Japan Festival Houston, a popular annual event, and they have further contributed 13 14 to the Asian American community through involvement with the Asian Chamber of Commerce, the Asia Society Texas Center, and the 15 16 Japan-America Society of Houston; several other nonprofit organizations have benefited from their generosity, such as 17 Holocaust Museum Houston, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, and the 18 recognition 19 Hermann Park Conservancy; in of his many accomplishments, Mr. Gondo was inducted into the Order of the 20 21 Rising Sun by the Japanese government; and

22 WHEREAS, Kathy and Glen Gondo have proven themselves to be 23 business and civic leaders of great vision and ability, and they may 24 reflect with pride on their successful efforts to make Houston an

1

1 even better place for all; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Kathy and Glen Gondo on their 4 selection as honorees at Tiger Ball 2023 and extend to them sincere 5 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Gondo as an expression of high regard by 8 the Texas House of Representatives.

Wu

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 56 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House