RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Matagorda County are gathering in
Austin on February 7, 2023, to celebrate Matagorda County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, One of the oldest counties in Texas, Matagorda County derives its name from the Spanish word for "thick brush," in reference to the canebrakes that once lined its shores along the Gulf Coast; located between Galveston and Corpus Christi, 72 miles southwest of Houston, the county offers residents easy access to a large metropolitan city while providing the quiet lifestyle of a rural South Texas community; and

11 WHEREAS, Noted for its abundant wildlife, Matagorda County is thought to have more species of birds than anywhere else in the 12 country during certain times of the year; its diverse geography, 13 14 from marshes and coastal prairies to rivers and forests, affords outstanding birding opportunities; the Matagorda County Birding 15 16 Nature Center is an ideal place to learn about birds, gardening, wildlife, and native plants, and three Great Texas Coastal Birding 17 Trail loops encompass 17 observation sites; moreover, the county's 18 bays are filled with redfish, flounder, trout, crab, oysters, and 19 shrimp, and the Port of Palacios is one of the largest shrimping 20 21 ports in Texas, home to more than 125 shrimp boats; and

22 WHEREAS, Ranching, farming, and petroleum remain important 23 economic resources in Matagorda County, which further benefits from 24 the presence of the South Texas Project; moreover, the county is the

1

1 home of international companies TenarisBayCity, OQ Chemicals 2 Corporation, and LyondellBasell, and has recently welcomed HIF USA, 3 Air Liquide, and Röhm America LLC to the area; the county also 4 boasts several prospective residential developments, totaling over 5 800 housing starts, as well as many new retail outlets and 6 restaurants; and

7 WHEREAS, Bay City, the county seat of Matagorda County, has 8 been called the "Gateway to the Great Outdoors"; founded in 1894, 9 the city was named for its location in the center of a vast coastal 10 prairie, which has been known as "Bay Prairie" from the time of 11 Stephen F. Austin; although the city is 25 miles from the Gulf of 12 Mexico, a port was constructed in the 1960s to link it to the Gulf 13 Intracoastal Waterway via the Colorado River; and

WHEREAS, Matagorda County is blessed with a rich history and abundant natural resources, and its residents may take great pride in their county's legacy and bright future; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 18 Legislature hereby recognize February 7, 2023, as Matagorda County 19 Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting 20 delegation.

Morrison

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 76 was adopted by the House on February 7, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House