RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of Best Southwest Partnership and
Leadership Southwest are visiting the State Capitol on February 15,
2023, to gain further insight about state government; and

WHEREAS, Best Southwest Partnership was established in 1986 4 5 by Cedar Hill, DeSoto, Duncanville, and Lancaster; after a 2016 expansion that added Ferris, Glenn Heights, Hutchins, Ovilla, Red 6 7 Oak, and Wilmer, the organization now includes 10 cities and 17 partner hospitals, colleges, universities, banks, utilities, and 8 9 other businesses that work together to encourage economic, legislative, and educational well-being for Southwest Dallas and 10 11 North Ellis Counties; today, the organization is overseen by its 12 current chair, Patricia Coleman; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1985, Leadership Southwest is a nine-month program that offers networking opportunities and seminars with leaders in the fields of education, law enforcement, government, health, economic development, and transportation; participants share a common goal of working for the public good and encouraging growth in Southwest Dallas County; and

WHEREAS, The Leadership Southwest Class of 2023 includes Katie Avant, Tyler Agee, Terrie Brooks, Elsa Brown, the Honorable Sonja Brown, Curtis Brumfield, Mone Bryant, Marvin Charles, Junior Dikousman, Tiaira Erwin, Leigh Ferguson, Kimberly Florsheim, Ken Frazier, Natasha Harris, Linda Highwood, Brittaney Humphrey, Janice James, Joanna James, George Johnson, Alisa Jones, David

1

Kees, Becky Lewis, Shellye Lyons, Tshomba Mayers, the Honorable 1 Elishima Myles, Mayra Ortiz, Bryson Owensby, Crystal Perry, Mayor 2 3 Shelia Petta, Irma Scholes, Derek Soper, Andy Taylor, Jeremy Tennant, Eugene Walker Jr., Yolonda Woodson, Alicia Thomas, 4 5 Charlondra Thompson, Janelle Valera, Cheryl Vaughan, Nicole Young, the Honorable Pamela Wash, Amanda Skinner, and Amanda Torres; the 6 program benefits from the able guidance of its executive director, 7 8 Amanda Skinner, as well as that of its board chair, Kenneth Govan; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Endeavoring to foster a more informed and involved 11 citizenry and to develop new leaders, the members of Best Southwest 12 Partnership and Leadership Southwest are helping to build a 13 brighter future for the Lone Star State, and it is indeed a pleasure 14 to recognize them on this special day; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 15, 2023, as Best Southwest Partnership Day at the State Capitol and extend to all participants sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Davis

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 95 was adopted by the House on February 15, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House