H.R. No. 118

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Bee County are gathering at the
- 2 State Capitol to celebrate Bee County Day on February 8, 2023; and
- 3 WHEREAS, While artifacts indicate that the region was
- 4 originally inhabited 6,000 to 10,000 years ago, the first permanent
- 5 European settlers arrived in the early 19th century, and 11 area
- 6 landowners were among the signers of the Texas Declaration of
- 7 Independence; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Bee County was officially organized on January 25,
- 9 1858, and named for Barnard E. Bee Sr., a South Carolina attorney,
- 10 soldier, and statesman who joined the Army of the Republic of Texas
- 11 and later served as secretary of war under Sam Houston; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Located in the South Texas Plains vegetation region,
- 13 the county covers 866 square miles that slope gently toward the Gulf
- 14 Coast, and with open expanses of grasslands, its economy is
- 15 dominated by farming, ranching, and agribusiness, along with oil
- 16 and gas operations; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Bee County citizens can take pride in an array of
- 18 attractions for residents and visitors to explore; Beeville is the
- 19 county seat, and it has successfully revitalized its downtown
- 20 district and has been named a Texas Main Street City by the Texas
- 21 Historical Commission; Coastal Bend College-Beeville offers
- 22 occupational as well as academic classes for its students, and it
- 23 has the oldest academic educational glassblowing facility in the
- 24 state; the Beeville Art Museum, which is funded by the Joe Barnhart

H.R. No. 118

- 1 Foundation, is housed in the beautiful and historic Esther Barnhart
- 2 House; in addition, visitors come from all across Texas to
- 3 celebrate the state's rich traditions at Western Week; other towns
- 4 in the county include Skidmore, Blue Berry Hill, Pettus, Tuleta,
- 5 Tynan, Pawnee, Normanna, and Mineral; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Residents of Bee County are working together to
- 7 build an even brighter future, and this special day provides a
- 8 fitting opportunity to pay tribute to the county and its people;
- 9 now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby recognize February 8, 2023, as Bee County Day at
- 12 the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting
- 13 delegation.

Lozano

## H.R. No. 118

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia	Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Dallas King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer	Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair
Flores	Lujan	Thompson of Brazoria
Garcia Gates		
Gerdes	Meyer Meza	Turner VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas	Morales Shaw	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu Zwiener
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener

	H.R. No. 118
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 118 was a 8, 2023, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House