H.R. No. 139

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of Habitat for Humanity Texas are
 celebrating Habitat for Humanity Day on February 7, 2023; and

3 WHEREAS, Homeownership plays a significant role in enhancing the quality of life in our communities, and Texas has faced a 4 critical shortage of affordable homes, with a 500,000-home deficit; 5 in addition, one in seven homeowners pay more than half their income 6 7 on housing; there are many causes for the lack of affordable housing, including issues related to marginalization, land-use 8 9 policy, inequality, high population density, and natural 10 disasters; and

11 WHEREAS, Habitat for Humanity Texas and its local affiliates 12 strive to help build a better future for people across the state; 13 these organizations unite residents and enable them to construct 14 homes in their communities, and they work to expand access to 15 affordable homes through advocacy, resource development, 16 education, training, and disaster preparedness and response; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, the Habitat for Humanity network in Texas has collectively helped over 13,500 families obtain safe housing in 60 areas throughout the state; since 1977, the network has built more than 8,500 new homes, repaired nearly 5,000, and rehabilitated almost 600; and

WHEREAS, Habitat for Humanity Texas has made homeownership a reality for numerous families in the Lone Star State, and the dedicated members of the organization are truly deserving of

1

1 recognition for their contributions to this important cause; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize February 7, 2023, as Habitat For 5 Humanity Day and commend all those associated with the organization 6 for their efforts; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Habitat for Humanity Texas as an expression of high
regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Walle

H.R. No. 139

2

H.R. No. 139

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 139

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 139 was adopted by the House on February 7, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House