H.R. No. 157

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Court Reporters Association are

celebrating Texas Court Reporting and Captioning Week from

3 February 4 to 11, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Since the 1930s, TCRA has worked to advance the

5 field of stenographic reporting through education and advocacy; the

6 association is dedicated to promoting the accuracy and impartiality

7 that are the hallmarks of the courtroom professional, and the group

8 provides its members with a valuable forum for discussion and

9 study; and

2

10 WHEREAS, Court reporters undergo several years of training to

11 achieve different levels of certification; they develop typing

12 speeds upwards of 280 words per minute, allowing them to capture

13 every word of legal proceedings; in addition, they are required to

14 complete continuing education courses throughout their careers to

15 ensure that they remain at the forefront of technological

16 developments and that they have full knowledge of current

17 procedures in their industry; and

18 WHEREAS, Court reporters play a vital role in our nation's

19 legal system, and this observance offers an ideal opportunity to

20 acknowledge their important contributions; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

22 Legislature hereby recognize February 4 to 11, 2023, as Texas Court

23 Reporting and Captioning Week and extend to the members of the Texas

24 Court Reporters Association sincere best wishes for continued

H.R. No. 157

- 1 success in their endeavors; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Smith

## H.R. No. 157

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia	Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Dallas King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer	Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair
Flores	Lujan	Thompson of Brazoria
Garcia Gates		
Gerdes	Meyer Meza	Turner VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas	Morales Shaw	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu Zwiener
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener

H.R. No. 15
Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 157 was adopted by the House on February 2023, by a non-record vote.
Chief Clerk of the House

8,