RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Business and community leaders from El Paso are
- 2 gathering in Austin to celebrate February 14 through 16, 2023, as
- 3 El Paso Days at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, The sixth-largest city in Texas, El Paso has the
- 5 distinction of being located where two countries and three states
- 6 converge, and together with its neighboring border city Juárez,
- 7 Chihuahua, Mexico, it forms the largest bilingual and binational
- 8 workforce in the Western Hemisphere; the El Paso region also
- 9 represents one of the largest manufacturing centers in North
- 10 America, and it boasts key ports of entry that make it a nexus for
- 11 international trade; area businesses are fortunate to be served by
- 12 the El Paso Chamber, which has taken the lead in promoting economic
- 13 prosperity and encouraging a favorable business climate in El Paso
- 14 for nearly 125 years; and
- WHEREAS, This vibrant, bilingual, and bicultural community
- 16 is home to a number of exemplary educational institutions, museums,
- 17 and historical sites and to many cultural and fine arts offerings
- 18 that attract residents and visitors alike; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Designated as an All-America City by the National
- 20 Civic League, El Paso is recognized for its innovation,
- 21 inclusiveness, public engagement, and cross-border collaboration,
- 22 and it is consistently rated as one of the safest cities in the
- 23 nation; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso has received the

- 1 prestigious R1 designation from the Carnegie Classification of
- 2 Institutions of Higher Education, which recognizes the school's
- 3 outstanding research activities; UTEP is also noted for providing
- 4 access to a diverse, 21st-century demographic; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso
- 6 is a stand-alone health sciences center and home to the first
- 7 medical school on the nation's southern border; the University
- 8 Medical Center, the primary teaching institution for
- 9 TTUHSC El Paso, features the region's only Level I Trauma Center;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, The city of El Paso has a long and notable
- 12 association with the 175-year-old Fort Bliss, which serves as the
- 13 base of the 1st Armored Division, "America's Tank Division"; the
- 14 Borderplex region also includes the White Sands Missile Range, the
- 15 largest fully instrumented, open-air test range operated by the
- 16 U.S. Department of Defense, and Holloman Air Force Base, one of Air
- 17 Education and Training Command's busiest installations; in
- 18 acknowledgment of El Paso County's strong military presence,
- 19 continued partnership with Fort Bliss, and steadfast commitment to
- 20 veterans, it recently adopted the moniker of "Veterans Capital of
- 21 the U.S.A."; and
- WHEREAS, El Paso is preparing for an exciting new era, as it
- 23 was the only Texas community to be awarded a Build Back Better grant
- 24 from the U.S. Economic Development Administration; the grant, which
- 25 will help El Paso pursue the development of advanced manufacturing
- 26 in the areas of aerospace and defense, was secured through the
- 27 efforts of UTEP's Aerospace Center, the El Paso Chamber, and the

- 1 City and County of El Paso; and
- WHEREAS, An area with a rich and fascinating heritage,
- 3 El Paso has contributed immeasurably to the story of the Lone Star
- 4 State, and its citizens should take great pride in the
- 5 extraordinary city they call home; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 14 through 16, 2023, as
- 8 El Paso Days at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the
- 9 visiting delegation.

Moody González of El Paso Ortega Ordaz Morales of Maverick

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby OrrBailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Landgraf Spiller Cunningham Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Flores Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Morales of Harris Gervin-Hawkins Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

	H.R. No. 175
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 175 was 15, 2023, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House