H.R. No. 181

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, David Martinez is retiring from the Port of Corpus 2 Christi on April 30, 2022, drawing to a close an exemplary career 3 that has spanned more than three decades; and

WHEREAS, Since January 1990, Mr. Martinez has served as the vessel traffic controller for the Port of Corpus Christi, the nation's largest port based on total revenue tonnage; among his many responsibilities, he monitors and maintains records on vessel movements, notifies ship agents of arrivals from the U.S. Coast Guard, and facilitates the timely and efficient movement of cargo; and

WHEREAS, Widely respected, Mr. Martinez is vice chair of the 11 12 Board of Commissioners for Nueces County Drainage District No. 2 and sits on the board of the Robstown Area Development Commission; 13 14 he has further distinguished himself as a board member for the Corpus Christi Regional Transportation Authority and the Robstown 15 16 Area Development Corporation, as a commissioner for the Robstown Housing Authority, and as chair of the Robstown Civil Service 17 Commission; additionally, he is a former Nueces County road and 18 bridge advisor; and 19

WHEREAS, The skill, professionalism, and commitment to excellence demonstrated by David Martinez have made him an important asset to the Port of Corpus Christi, and he may indeed reflect with pride on his contributions as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 181

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate David Martinez on his retirement 3 from the Port of Corpus Christi and extend to him sincere best 4 wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Martinez as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 181

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 181 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2023, by the following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 0, 2 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House