## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud members of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority are

gathering in Austin on March 7, 2023, to celebrate Alpha Kappa Alpha

3 Day at the State Capitol; and

2

4 WHEREAS, The nation's first Greek sorority for African

5 American women, Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded as a social and

6 service organization on January 15, 1908, by Howard University

7 undergraduate Ethel Hedgeman Lyle and 19 other students; these

8 inspiring women are today known as "the Twenty Pearls"; and

9 WHEREAS, The sorority seeks to cultivate and encourage high

10 scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship

11 among college women, to improve the social stature of women of all

12 ages, and to be of service to all mankind; a member of the National

13 Pan-Hellenic Council, Alpha Kappa Alpha serves people around the

14 world through the efforts of more than 355,000 members in over 1,000

15 chapters located in the United States, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the

16 Bahamas, Bermuda, Canada, Germany, South Korea, Japan, Dubai,

17 Liberia, Nigeria, and South Africa; and

18 WHEREAS, For more than a century, the group has made a

19 positive difference with its important work in the areas of civil

20 rights, education, economic empowerment, and health care; under the

21 leadership of the sorority's 31st international president, Danette

22 Anthony Reed, Alpha Kappa Alpha continues to focus on the personal

23 and professional development of its members, on the bonds of

24 sisterhood, and on its domestic and international servant

H.R. No. 202

- 1 leadership; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha has long remained at the forefront
- 3 of effective advocacy and social change, and its members' efforts
- 4 have made an important contribution to the goals of equality and
- 5 equity for all citizens of the world; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize March 7, 2023, as Alpha Kappa Alpha
- 8 Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the sorority's
- 9 visiting delegation.

Allen Thompson of Harris Jones of Harris

## H.R. No. 202

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia	Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Dallas King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer	Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair
Flores	Lujan	Thompson of Brazoria
Garcia Gates		
Gerdes	Meyer Meza	Turner VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas	Morales Shaw	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu Zwiener
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener

	H.R. No. 202
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 202 with the second vote.	was adopted by the House on March 7,
	Chief Clerk of the House

2023,