RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Longhorns and Aggies are uniting at the State

1

2 Capitol on February 15, 2023, to celebrate The University of Texas at Austin and Texas A&M University with Orange and Maroon 3 Legislative Day, a day when the state's two largest universities 4 work together to promote higher education in the State of Texas; and 5 6 WHEREAS, Alumni from the two institutions total more than 7 1.15 million, and The University of Texas at Austin and Texas A&M University had a combined annual enrollment of more than 127,000 8 students in the fall of 2022, with more than 33,000 students 9 receiving degrees that year; the schools boast superb museums and 10 11 libraries, including the George H. W. Bush Presidential Library and 12 Museum and the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library and Museum, and both universities are renowned for their exceptional research, 13 14 with combined annual research expenditures of over \$1.93 billion; 15 and WHEREAS, The teaching and research missions of The University 16 of Texas at Austin and Texas A&M University benefit the State of 17 Texas through the cultivation of informed and engaged citizens, and 18 they drive economic prosperity through technological innovation, 19 entrepreneurial spirit, improved health care, and scientific 20 21 breakthroughs, including the development of a new clot-busting medication at The University of Texas at Austin that can reduce the 22 23 risk of brain bleeding in stroke patients by half, as well as the discovery of new biological technologies at Texas A&M University to 24

1 fight complex pathogens that infect Texas crops and cost the U.S. agriculture industry billions of dollars each year; moreover, 2 3 these missions contribute to advancements in national defense; and 4 WHEREAS, Researchers from The University of Texas at Austin 5 and Texas A&M University explore, discover, and innovate in the sciences, arts, and humanities and have been granted numerous 6 patents; as Tier One research institutions, both universities 7 8 provide students valuable opportunities for applied learning with quidance from outstanding faculty across the disciplines, and as 9 10 Hispanic-Serving Institutions, the two universities broaden access 11 to higher education for historically underserved populations; and WHEREAS, Both universities serve as important cultural 12 centers, engaging Texans in the visual and performing arts and 13 14 other creative endeavors, and they promote athletics and physical 15 education, inspiring Texans to stay active and bringing them together in support of student-athletes; and 16 17 WHEREAS, The combined faculties feature 5 Nobel laureates and more than 100 National Academy members, and those attending the

18 19 schools include National Merit scholars, Rhodes scholars, Olympic gold medalists, military service veterans, and many of the Lone 20 21 Star State's most outstanding students; in addition, the two universities offer an amazing range of postgraduate opportunities 22 23 with more than 500 graduate degree programs; and

WHEREAS, Both universities have proven records of support for our nation's military, commissioning tens of thousands of uniformed 25 26 officers throughout their storied histories, and for our nation's veterans, enrolling hundreds of 27 veterans each semester,

24

- 1 establishing their commitment to providing new opportunities to our
- 2 nation's bravest in supportive, military-friendly environments;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin and Texas A&M
- 5 University have positioned themselves as preeminent institutions
- 6 of higher education on the state, national, and international
- 7 levels, and Texans are fortunate to have access to these two
- 8 exceptional state university systems; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby recognize February 15, 2023, as Orange and
- 11 Maroon Legislative Day and commend alumni from The University of
- 12 Texas at Austin and Texas A&M University for their commitment to
- 13 supporting higher education in the Lone Star State.

Raney

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby Orr Bailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Landgraf Spiller Cunningham Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Flores Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Morales of Harris Gervin-Hawkins Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

	H.R. No. 206
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 206 was 15, 2023, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House