H.R. No. 214

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Refugio County are gathering in
- 2 Austin on March 7, 2023, to celebrate Refugio County Day at the
- 3 State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Situated in the Coastal Prairies region along the
- 5 lower Gulf Coast, Refugio County was organized as one of the
- 6 thirteen original counties of the Republic of Texas, with the town
- 7 of Refugio as its county seat; both the town and county are named
- 8 for Nuestra Señora del Refugio Mission, which was founded in the
- 9 area in 1793 and remained in operation until 1830; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Agriculture is a leading industry in Refugio County,
- 11 and the area serves as an important source of livestock, sorghum,
- 12 cotton, corn, wheat, and hay; the county has also reaped economic
- 13 benefits derived from the region's natural resources, including
- 14 petroleum, natural gas, and industrial sand; in addition, hunters
- 15 are drawn to the county for its diverse wildlife; and
- WHEREAS, Today, Refugio County is home to more than 6,700
- 17 people; residents and visitors alike have enjoyed attending annual
- 18 events hosted by the town of Refugio, such as the Refugio County
- 19 Fair; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The people of Refugio County take great pride in
- 21 their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter
- 22 future, and it is indeed fitting to honor them for their unique
- 23 contributions to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

H.R. No. 214

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize March 7, 2023, as Refugio County Day
- 2 at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting
- 3 delegation.

Lozano

H.R. No. 214

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby Orr Bailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Cunningham Landgraf Spiller Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Flores Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

	H.R. No. 214
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 214 w. 2023, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on March 7,
	Chief Clerk of the House