H.R. No. 216

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Calhoun County are gathering in Austin
 on March 9, 2023, to observe Calhoun County Day at the State
 Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located on the Gulf Coast between Houston and Corpus 4 5 Christi, Calhoun County was formed in 1846 from parts of Victoria, Jackson, and Matagorda Counties and took its name from John C. 6 7 Calhoun, a politician from South Carolina who advocated for Texas statehood; Lavaca served as the first county seat, and though the 8 county seat was later moved to Indianola, it returned to the renamed 9 Port Lavaca in 1887; the county features several other notable 10 11 communities, including Point Comfort, which sits on the opposite 12 side of Lavaca Bay from Port Lavaca, Seadrift on the San Antonio Bay, and Port O'Connor, located on the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway; 13 14 and

WHEREAS, Boasting around 560 miles of coastline and extensive 15 16 coastal prairies and marshes, Calhoun County is a popular fishing destination, and the eight Great Texas Coastal Birding Trail sites 17 in the county provide birders and wildlife photographers an 18 opportunity to see more than 400 species of birds; residents and 19 visitors also enjoy a number of annual events, including the 20 21 Calhoun County Fair, the Flip Flop Festival, and the Bayfront Beats summer concert series; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich and colorful history as they 24 work together to build a bright future, the citizens of Calhoun

1

H.R. No. 216 1 County may take justifiable pride in the important role their 2 unique region continues to play in the story of the Lone Star State; 3 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize March 9, 2023, as Calhoun County Day
at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Lozano

H.R. No. 216

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 216 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2023, by the following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 0, 2 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House