## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Community members, students, faculty, and staff 2 from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso are 3 gathering on March 6, 2023, to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the 4 institution becoming an independent university within the Texas 5 Tech University System; and

6 WHEREAS, Since 1973, Texas Tech University Health Sciences 7 Center El Paso has provided quality medical education and primary health care to the West Texas area; it was initially created as a 8 Regional Academic Health Center for the TTU School of Medicine, and 9 on May 18, 2013, Governor Rick Perry signed S.B. 120 to formally 10 11 establish TTUHSC El Paso as the fourth of five freestanding 12 universities in the Texas Tech University System; with a focus on researching cancer, diabetes and metabolism, infectious diseases, 13 14 and neurosciences, the university works to address health problems among the Hispanic population, and each year, its physicians, 15 16 clinics, and partnering hospitals provide more than \$33 million in uncompensated health care services to the El Paso community; and 17

18 WHEREAS, The only health sciences center along the 19 U.S.-Mexico border, TTUHSC El Paso encompasses four schools, the 20 Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing, the L. Frederick Francis 21 Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the Paul L. Foster School 22 of Medicine, and the Woody L. Hunt School of Dental Medicine; while 23 partnering with local hospitals, the university provides vital 24 opportunities for medical residency, clinical rotations, and

1

1 postgraduation job placements; and

2 WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso 3 helps to remove barriers to health care and offers students 4 life-changing educational opportunities, and it is a pleasure to 5 join in honoring the university on the occasion of this important 6 milestone in its history; now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 8 Legislature hereby commemorate the 10th anniversary of Texas Tech 9 University Health Sciences Center El Paso becoming an independent 10 university within the Texas Tech University System and extend to 11 all those associated with the university sincere best wishes for 12 continued success; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be 14 prepared for TTUHSC El Paso as an expression of high regard from the 15 Texas House of Representatives.

> Ortega Moody González of El Paso Ordaz Morales of Maverick

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 437 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House