RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Tyler Junior College Apache Band and Apache
Belles drill team are celebrating their 75th anniversary during the
2022-2023 academic year; and

WHEREAS, Both established in 1947, the Apache Belles and the 4 5 Apache Band have dazzled audiences across the state and nation as well as around the world; their talents have been showcased during 6 the Super Bowl VI and XII halftime shows, and for many years, they 7 were the official halftime entertainment for the Dallas Cowboys 8 franchise, performing at nationally televised football games and 9 playoff games; today, the groups benefit from the able leadership 10 11 of Apache Belles director Jasilyn Schaefer and Apache Band director 12 Jeremy Strickland; and

13 WHEREAS, The Apache Belles made their debut at a TJC football 14 game in 1947 and quickly became a mainstay at school sporting events; the members of the dance team have met a number of U.S. 15 16 presidents, including Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, and Bill Clinton, and they have participated in special events in Mexico, 17 Costa Rica, Belize, Honduras, and China; they have also performed 18 for members of the military stationed in Japan, South Korea, 19 20 Austria, Germany, and Hawaii; and

21 WHEREAS, The Apache Band has stirred the hearts of TJC fans 22 for 75 years, performing exciting music and creative marching drill 23 routines at school football games as well as at major sporting 24 events, such as the Super Bowl and the Cotton Bowl; the band's

1

1 members have also served as ambassadors for TJC and East Texas, 2 performing for U.S. presidents and other dignitaries and for U.S. 3 troops and their families overseas; the band encompasses a variety 4 of exceptional groups, including the Apache Marching Band, a wind 5 ensemble and symphonic band, a jazz ensemble, and an indoor 6 drumline; and

7 WHEREAS, Over the course of the past seven and a half decades, 8 members of the Apache Belles and the Apache Band have established a 9 well-deserved reputation for excellence, and in so doing, they have 10 served as impressive ambassadors for Tyler Junior College and the 11 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Tyler Junior College Apache Band and Apache Belles on their 75th anniversary and extend to all those associated with the groups sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for the Apache Belles and the Apache Band as an expression 19 of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Schaefer

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 456 was adopted by the House on March 7, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House