H.R. No. 474

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Many proud Texans are visiting Austin on March 7,
2023, to celebrate Texas Southern University Day at the State
Capitol; and

WHEREAS, One of the nation's preeminent historically Black colleges and universities, TSU was founded in 1927; it was designated as a special-purpose institution of higher education for urban programming by the Texas Legislature in 1973 and retains a steadfast commitment to innovative approaches that respond to the metropolitan environment; and

WHEREAS, The university now serves approximately 7,500 undergraduate and graduate students from around the world; it offers well over 100 baccalaureate, master's, and doctoral degree programs in numerous schools, including the Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs, named after two alumni who served with distinction in the United States Congress; and

16 WHEREAS, TSU is noted for its Thurgood Marshall School of Law 17 and its College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences; the university is 18 also active in the Texas Legislative Internship Program, which 19 grants students the opportunity to gain valuable experience in 20 state government, alongside many legislators who share personal 21 ties to their alma mater; and

22 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of its 13th president, 23 Dr. Lesia L. Crumpton-Young, TSU has redoubled its efforts to 24 increase student success rates and academic rigor while expanding

1

1 its research programs, enhancing its culture, and developing 2 stronger relationships with Houston public schools, local 3 community colleges, alumni, and other stakeholders; and

WHEREAS, For nearly a century, Texas Southern University has played an important role in higher education in the Lone Star State, and its graduates continue to achieve success and make significant contributions in numerous fields of endeavor; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize March 7, 2023, as Texas Southern 10 University Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those 11 associated with the institution sincere best wishes for the future; 12 and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for Texas Southern University as an expression of high 15 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Jones of Harris Thierry Allen

H.R. No. 474

2

H.R. No. 474

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 474

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 474 was adopted by the House on March 7, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House