H.R. No. 499

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Aubrey Kistler of Southwest High School in Fort
Worth has been named the 2022-2023 Friedman Chair for Teaching
Excellence in Performing Arts; and

WHEREAS, Established by the Fort Worth Independent School District in 1994, the Chairs for Teaching Excellence program was designed to recognize outstanding educators; the recipients of this noteworthy award hold the title for one year and receive a \$5,000 honorarium; and

9 WHEREAS, Ms. Kistler earned her bachelor's degree from Texas 10 Christian University, and she is in her fifth year as a member of 11 the Southwest High School faculty; she currently serves as the head 12 choral director, using music to help her students achieve both 13 their academic and personal goals; under her able leadership, the 14 choral program has grown exponentially through classroom culture, 15 communication, and community outreach; and

16 WHEREAS, During her tenure, Ms. Kistler has taken several 17 choir groups to compete at UIL contests, and she began the school 18 district's only competitive show choir; additionally, Southwest 19 Choir has earned numerous regional and state titles, as well as its 20 first national title; and

21 WHEREAS, The performing arts broaden horizons and deepen 22 understanding of the human condition, and through her skill, 23 enthusiasm, and dedication to her field, Aubrey Kistler has 24 enriched the lives of numerous students; now, therefore, be it

1

## H.R. No. 499

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Aubrey Kistler on being named the 3 2022-2023 Friedman Chair for Teaching Excellence in Performing Arts 4 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be 5 it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Kistler as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Goldman

H.R. No. 499

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 499 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House