H.R. No. 508

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The football team from South Oak Cliff High School
- 2 in Dallas continued its tradition of excellence by winning the 2022
- 3 University Interscholastic League 5A Division 2 state
- 4 championship; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Demonstrating unwavering resolve after dropping
- 6 three games to begin the year, the Golden Bears reeled off seven
- 7 consecutive victories to claim the district title; the team carried
- 8 its momentum into the playoffs, besting Mansfield Summit, Lucas
- 9 Lovejoy, Midlothian Heritage, Melissa, and Argyle High Schools to
- 10 reach the state title contest; and
- 11 WHEREAS, South Oak Cliff battled for the crown against Port
- 12 Neches-Groves High School on December 16 at AT&T Stadium in
- 13 Arlington; after trailing 17-12 at intermission, the Golden Bears
- 14 erupted for 22 straight points in the second half and prevailed by a
- 15 final score of 34-24; with the triumph, the team became the first
- 16 repeat state champion in Dallas Independent School District
- 17 history; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Offensive Most Valuable Player William Little
- 19 recorded 235 yards passing, a touchdown pass, and a rushing
- 20 touchdown in the title game, and Defensive MVP Manny Muhammad was
- 21 responsible for two tackles and an interception that he returned
- 22 for a touchdown; ably guided by head coach Jason Todd and his staff,
- 23 the Golden Bears received valuable contributions from each member
- 24 of the roster over the course of an unforgettable season; and

H.R. No. 508

- 1 WHEREAS, By once again earning the mantle of state champions,
- 2 the South Oak Cliff High School Golden Bears have burnished the
- 3 school's reputation as a gridiron powerhouse, and this achievement
- 4 will be fondly remembered for many years to come; now, therefore, be
- 5 it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby congratulate the South Oak Cliff High School
- 8 football team on winning the 2022 UIL 5A Division 2 state
- 9 championship and that the team's players, coaches, and staff be
- 10 extended sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 11 further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the Golden Bears as an expression of high regard by the
- 14 Texas House of Representatives.

Rose

H.R. No. 508

Phelan	Guerra	Murr
Allen	Guillen	Neave Criado
Allison	Harless	Noble
Anchía	Harris of Anderson	Oliverson
Anderson	Harris of Williamson	Ordaz
Ashby	Harrison	Orr
-		
Bailes	Hayes	Ortega
Bell of Kaufman	Hefner	Patterson
Bell of Montgomery	Hernandez	Paul
Bernal	Herrero	Perez
Bhojani	Hinojosa	Plesa
Bonnen	Holland	Price
Bowers	Howard	Ramos
Bryant	Hull	Raney
Buckley	Hunter	Raymond
Bucy	Isaac	Reynolds
Bumgarner	Jetton	Rogers
Burns	Johnson of Dallas	Romero, Jr.
Burrows	A. Johnson of Harris	Rose
Button	J. Johnson of Harris	Rosenthal
Cain	Jones of Dallas	Schaefer
		Schatzline
Campos	Jones of Harris	
Canales	Kacal	Schofield
Capriglione	King of Hemphill	Shaheen
Clardy	King of Uvalde	Sherman, Sr.
Cole	Kitzman	Shine
Collier	Klick	Slaton
Cook	Kuempel	Slawson
Cortez	Lalani	Smith
Craddick	Lambert	Smithee
Cunningham	Landgraf	Spiller
Darby	Leach	Stucky
Davis	Leo-Wilson	Swanson
Dean	Longoria	Talarico
DeAyala	Lopez of Bexar	Tepper
Dorazio	Lopez of Cameron	Thierry
Dutton	Lozano	Thimesch
Flores	Lujan	Thompson of Brazoria
Frank	Manuel	Thompson of Harris
Frazier	Martinez	Tinderholt
Gamez	Martinez Fischer	Toth
Garcia	Metcalf	Troxclair
Gates	Meyer	Turner
Gerdes	Meza	VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas	Morales Shaw	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu .
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener

	H.R. NO. 508	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 508 was	adopted by the House on March 7,	
2023, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House