By: Schofield H.R. No. 601

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Thomas Harrison has been named the 2022 Texas

2 Dentist of the Year by the Texas Academy of General Dentistry; and

3 WHEREAS, Each year, the Texas Academy of General Dentistry

4 selects one dentist as Texas Dentist of the Year, the

5 organization's highest honor; nominees are chosen by local chapters

6 of the Texas Dental Association and the Texas AGD throughout the

7 state; and

8 WHEREAS, For nearly four decades, Dr. Tommy Harrison owned a

9 private group dental practice in Katy, where he continues to

10 provide exemplary care to his patients; in addition, he is an

11 assistant professor in the Department of General Practice and

12 Dental Public Health at The University of Texas Health Science

13 Center at Houston School of Dentistry, and he further serves UTSD as

14 a PACE Practice Consultant and as a member of the Faculty Senate,

15 the Dean's Admissions Committee, and the Mosaic team; and

16 WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison has held leadership positions in a

17 number of professional organizations, including serving as

18 president of the Texas Dental Association and of the Greater

19 Houston Dental Society; among his many accolades are the Texas

20 Dental Association Gold Medal Award for Distinguished Service and

21 three Texas Dentist of the Year nominations; and

22 WHEREAS, Through his outstanding commitment to his

23 profession, Tommy Harrison has earned the admiration of his

24 colleagues and patients alike, and he may indeed take pride in his

H.R. No. 601

- 1 receipt of this well-deserved honor; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Thomas Harrison on his
- 4 selection as 2022 Texas Dentist of the Year by the Texas Academy of
- 5 General Dentistry and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 6 continued success with his important work; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Dr. Harrison as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.