By: Clardy H.R. No. 655

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Terry Bailey retired as judge of the

2 Panola County Court at Law in 2022, drawing to a close an exemplary

3 tenure in office that spanned more than two decades; and

WHEREAS, Terry Bailey was first elected judge of the Panola

5 County Court at Law in 1999, and in the decades since, he has

distinguished himself through his outstanding service to the

7 county's residents and through his astute leadership of county

8 government operations; over the course of his tenure, he has

9 presided over countless cases involving probate, eminent domain,

10 juveniles, and misdemeanors, as well as both civil and criminal law

11 matters that fall under concurrent jurisdiction with the district

12 court; and

6

WHEREAS, Prior to taking office, Judge Bailey worked as an

14 attorney in private practice for 24 years; a member of the State Bar

15 of Texas, he earned his law degree from South Texas College of Law

16 in 1974, and he has been admitted to practice before the U.S.

17 Supreme Court, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, the Eleventh

18 Circuit Court of Appeals, and the Texas Eastern District Court; and

19 WHEREAS, Although Judge Bailey plans to stay active in the

20 legal field, retirement will afford him more time to spend with his

21 family; and

22 WHEREAS, Through his dedication, professionalism, and

23 commitment to the law, Judge Terry Bailey has greatly benefited the

24 citizens of Panola County, and he may indeed reflect with pride on

H.R. No. 655

- 1 his accomplishments as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of
- 2 his life; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Judge Terry Bailey on his
- 5 retirement from the Panola County Court at Law and extend to him
- 6 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Judge Bailey as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.