RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many students in Texas 4-H are gathering in Austin 2 on March 29, 2023, in celebration of 4-H Day at the State Capitol; 3 and

WHEREAS, Established as an agricultural club in Jack County in 1908, 4-H is now the largest youth development program in the state, with more than 550,000 students from every Texas county taking part each year; the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the Prairie View A&M Cooperative Extension Program administer the program and are assisted by more than 29,000 trained volunteers; and

11 WHEREAS, The organization's name stands for Head, Heart, 12 Hands, and Health, reflecting different aspects of an individual's personal and social responsibilities; guided by the motto "to make 13 14 the best better," today's clubs emphasize leadership, citizenship, and strong character, help members to acquire valuable life skills, 15 16 and foster readiness for college and the workplace; participants have the opportunity to engage in projects related not only to 17 agriculture but also to science, engineering, technology, natural 18 resources, and healthy lifestyles; in Texas, the most popular 19 20 programs are food and nutrition, agriculture awareness and 21 education, gardening and horticulture, and veterinary science; and

WHEREAS, According to a study conducted by the Institute for Applied Research in Youth Development at Tufts University, 4-H participants are four times more likely than their peers to

1

1 contribute to their communities; they are also twice as likely to 2 make healthier choices and to participate in science programs 3 outside of school; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, 4-H has enriched the lives of countless youths across the Lone Star State, and the program's alumni have gone on to make a lasting, positive difference in their communities and beyond; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize March 29, 2023, as 4-H Day at the State 10 Capitol and extend to all those in attendance sincere best wishes 11 for a memorable and productive event.

Ashby

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 674 was adopted by the House on March 29, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House