RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, National Medal of Honor Day is celebrated on the
- 2 25th day of March each year; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The highest distinction for valor in combat, the
- 4 Medal of Honor recognizes members of the United States armed forces
- 5 who have gone above and beyond the call of duty by demonstrating
- 6 conspicuous gallantry at the risk of their lives; the medal is
- 7 awarded by the U.S. President in the name of Congress; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The Medal of Honor was authorized in 1861 for
- 9 members of the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps, and it was expanded to
- 10 include members of the U.S. Army the following year; the first
- 11 awards were bestowed to six men by the Secretary of War on March 25,
- 12 1863; since the award's inception, 3,535 medals have been presented
- 13 to 3,516 recipients in all service branches of the Department of
- 14 Defense; the medal was originally worn on the lapel, but today, it
- 15 is the only U.S. military medal that is worn around the neck; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Over the past 160 years, the Medal of Honor has
- 17 recognized those members of the nation's armed forces who have
- 18 greatly distinguished themselves through their acts of valor,
- 19 humanity, patriotism, and sacrifice, and the annual commemoration
- 20 of National Medal of Honor Day helps ensure that their stories will
- 21 remain a source of inspiration for years to come; now, therefore, be
- 22 it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby commemorate National Medal of Honor Day on

- $1\,$ March 25, 2023, and encourage all Texans to learn more about the
- 2 award and its recipients.

Cook

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby OrrBailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Cunningham Landgraf Spiller Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Flores Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 875 was adopted by the House on March 30, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House