H.R. No. 935

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Karen Prewitt of IDEA Palmview College Preparatory
- 2 has earned certification from the National Board for Professional
- 3 Teaching Standards; and
- 4 WHEREAS, One of the most respected professional
- 5 certifications available in K-12 education, national board
- 6 certification was designed to develop, retain, and recognize
- 7 accomplished teachers and to generate ongoing improvement in
- 8 schools nationwide; board certification is available in 25 areas
- 9 that span 16 disciplines from pre-kindergarten through 12th grade;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Ms. Prewitt has worked as an educator for 18 years
- 12 and currently serves as an eighth-grade Algebra 1 teacher at IDEA
- 13 Palmview; throughout her seven-year tenure, she has demonstrated an
- 14 outstanding commitment to ensuring that her students enroll and
- 15 excel in college; she holds a bachelor's degree from the University
- 16 of Nebraska at Kearney and a master's degree from Chadron State
- 17 College, and her certification is in mathematics for adolescents
- 18 and young adults; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Karen Prewitt exemplifies the passion,
- 20 determination, and innovative spirit that are the hallmarks of our
- 21 best teachers, and she has set a standard of excellence to which all
- 22 in her profession may aspire; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Karen Prewitt of IDEA Palmview

H.R. No. 935

- 1 College Preparatory on her receipt of certification from the
- 2 National Board for Professional Teaching Standards and extend to
- 3 her sincere best wishes for continued success with her important
- 4 work; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Prewitt as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Muñoz, Jr.

TT	_	7. T	$\sim \sim -$
Н	$\nu$	$N \cap$	935

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 935 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House