RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Retired Teachers Association
- 2 are celebrating Texas Retired Teachers Week from April 10 to 14,
- 3 2023; and
- WHEREAS, Made up of more than 96,000 members, TRTA serves as a
- 5 resource and advocate for retired school personnel throughout Texas
- 6 and works diligently in behalf of current and future public
- 7 education retirees; through its support of a strong teacher
- 8 retirement system, the association promotes the financial
- 9 soundness of the pension and health care programs serving former
- 10 educators; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The association is also devoted to benefiting
- 12 communities across the state through volunteer initiatives, and
- 13 each year, TRTA members perform more than five million hours of
- 14 service, equivalent to a value of \$151 million; many of these
- 15 endeavors are focused on schools, and members have further
- 16 encouraged reading and literacy among young Texans through their
- 17 contribution of more than 1,500,000 books to the Children's Book
- 18 Project, including 135,963 in the last year; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to supporting education and
- 20 educators, the Texas Retired Teachers Association has made a
- 21 positive and lasting difference in the Lone Star State, and the
- 22 members of this noteworthy organization are indeed deserving of
- 23 recognition for their efforts; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize April 10 to 14, 2023, as Texas Retired
- 2 Teachers Week and extend to all those associated with the
- 3 organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the Texas Retired Teachers Association as an
- 6 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Noble Harless Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby OrrBailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Cunningham Landgraf Spiller Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Flores Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 966 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House