RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Mesquite are gathering in Austin
on April 12, 2023, to celebrate Mesquite Day at the State Capitol;
and

WHEREAS, Located in Dallas and Kaufman Counties, Mesquite started as a depot town by the Texas and Pacific Railway in May 1873; named after nearby Mesquite Creek, the city was officially ncorporated on December 3, 1887, and it largely had an agrarian economy in its early days, growing cotton, hay, corn, and sugar; and

9 WHEREAS, Today, Mesquite is a vibrant and diverse city with a 10 population of some 152,000; part of the Dallas-Fort Worth 11 metroplex, the town boasts a welcoming business environment 12 facilitated by easy access to four major highways, the Mesquite 13 Metro Airport, and the Union Pacific Intermodal; and

14 WHEREAS, Local industry encompasses chemical products, food and beverage distribution, e-commerce, production technology, and 15 creative products; the city also serves as a regional retail hub 16 that is anchored by Town East Mall, and it is home to the Dallas 17 Regional Medical Center and two of the largest furniture producers 18 in the state, including Ashley Furniture Industries; in recent 19 years, the company has embarked on an expansion that will 20 21 ultimately result in a 1,577,000-square-foot regional manufacturing, distribution, and fulfillment center and more than 22 23 300 additional jobs in Mesquite; and

24 WHEREAS, The community benefits from the educational

1

1 opportunities provided by the Mesquite Independent School District and the Dallas College Eastfield Campus; residents and visitors 2 3 alike enjoy the recreational opportunities afforded by the Mesquite Golf Club as well as access to more than 70 public parks and 17 miles 4 5 of public trails connecting to Dallas and Garland; the Mesquite Arts Center, which opened in December 1995, is a 36,700-square-foot 6 arts facility that houses a music performance hall, black box 7 theater, rehearsal hall, and galleries; and 8

9 WHEREAS, In 1993, the 73rd Texas Legislature recognized 10 Mesquite as the Rodeo Capital of Texas; each year, the city hosts 11 the Mesquite Championship Rodeo, which was established in 1958 and 12 has been recognized by the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association 13 with its Small Rodeo of the Year Award; moreover, the town boasts 14 two professional sports teams, the Mesquite Outlaws and the Dallas 15 Outlaws; and

16 WHEREAS, The citizens of Mesquite take great pleasure in the 17 city's high quality of life, and they continue to make vital 18 contributions to the Lone Star State as they look forward to a 19 promising future; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 21 Legislature hereby recognize April 12, 2023, as Mesquite Day at the 22 State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting delegation.

Bowers

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 972 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House