By: Stucky

H.R. No. 1007

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of North Texas men's basketball team
brought the 2022-2023 season to a triumphant close by winning the
National Invitation Tournament; and

WHEREAS, Suffering just seven losses all season, UNT went 4 5 16-4 against its league rivals but lost in the semifinals of the Conference USA tournament to the University of Alabama 6 at Birmingham; the Mean Green rebounded for an easy 69-53 victory over 7 Alcorn State University to open the NIT and followed that up with 8 9 impressive wins against Sam Houston State and Oklahoma State Universities; in the semifinals, the team defeated the University 10 11 of Wisconsin 56-54, holding the Badgers scoreless in the final nine 12 minutes of regulation to advance to the championship contest; and

WHEREAS, On March 30 at Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada, 13 14 the Mean Green players took the floor in a rematch against the University of Alabama at Birmingham, a team they had met twice in 15 the regular season and once in the conference tournament; North 16 Texas opened with a 10-2 run and led by 10 heading into the break; 17 UAB staged a second half comeback, and UNT found itself trailing 18 53-52; with the title on the line, the Mean Green refused to give in 19 and outscored UAB 16-8 over the final six minutes to take home the 20 21 crown; the team cut down the nets in celebration of the school's first NIT championship and ended the year with a school record 31 22 23 wins; and

24

WHEREAS, UNT was led by Tylor Perry, the NIT Most Outstanding

1

Player, who scored more than 20 points in four of the team's five 1 games, and he was joined on the All-Tournament Team by Kai 2 3 Huntsberry; the Mean Green also received valuable contributions throughout the year from the other members of the roster: Rasheed 4 5 Browne, Aaron Scott, Christian Moore, Tyree Eady, Arsh Mattu, Moulaye Sissoko, Rubin Jones, Grayson Allo, Chris Morgan, Matthew 6 Jayden Martinez, and Abou Ousmane; these 7 Stone, dedicated 8 student-athletes were guided by head coach Grant McCasland, associate head coach Ross Hodge, and assistant coaches Matt Braeuer 9 and Achoki Moikobu, with additional support from director of 10 basketball operations Andre Shaw and the entire men's basketball 11 12 staff; and

H.R. No. 1007

WHEREAS, The talented and hardworking members of the University of North Texas men's basketball team have realized an outstanding accomplishment by capturing the NIT title, and their achievements are a source of great pride for the university's students, alumni, and fans; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the University of North Texas men's 20 basketball team on winning the 2023 National Invitation Tournament 21 and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best 22 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the Mean Green as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2