H.R. No. 1011

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Division of Digital Learning at the Texas Higher
Education Coordinating Board has received the 2022 Open Policy
Award from Open Education Global; and

WHEREAS, Each year, Open Education Global honors individuals and initiatives for their contributions to the open education community; the Open Policy award recognizes a program that helps recate, adopt, and implement legislation that promotes access to educational resources and supports the public good; and

9 WHEREAS, The Division of Digital Learning has played an instrumental role in implementing polices and practices to help 10 11 connect Texas students and faculty with digital learning services; 12 the organization's many initiatives include the OERTX Repository, a public digital library of open educational resources that allows 13 14 users across the state to develop, share, and access instructional materials at little to no cost; Digital Learning is also working 15 16 with OpenStax at Rice University to develop a free nursing curriculum, and it hosts various workshops and courses for faculty 17 and staff in the field of open education; and 18

WHEREAS, Open educational resources help ensure that all students have access to the tools they need to build bright futures, and the Division of Digital Learning is indeed deserving of special recognition for its contributions to this important cause; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

1

H.R. No. 1011

Legislature hereby congratulate the Division of Digital Learning on receiving the 2022 Open Policy Award from Open Education Global and extend to all those associated with the organization sincere best wishes for continued success in their important work; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the Division of Digital Learning as an expression of 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Howard

H.R. No. 1011

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1011 was adopted by the House on April 11, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House