By: Clardy

H.R. No. 1078

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Margaret and Jim Perkins, longtime benefactors of
Stephen F. Austin State University, have been honored with the 2023
Texas Higher Education Distinguished Service Award; and

WHEREAS, Originally presented in 1977, the Texas Higher Education Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals and organizations who have made a profound impact on higher education in Texas or who have significantly benefited the faculty, staff, and students of an institution through their leadership, service, or philanthropy; and

WHEREAS, Margaret and Jim Perkins have long been champions for education, and their efforts over the past several decades have touched the lives of thousands of students and families across the state; Mr. Perkins' affiliation with Stephen F. Austin State University has included two terms on the SFA Board of Regents from 15 1969 to 1981, during which time he served as chair of the board and led the establishment of the SFA Foundation; and

WHEREAS, In 2007, the College of Education was renamed the 17 James I. Perkins College of Education, and it has continued to 18 thrive with the support of the couple; for 13 years, the Perkins 19 Professional Development Travel Fund has enabled faculty to make 20 21 more than 850 national and international trips to present their research, and Mr. and Mrs. Perkins have also helped promote 22 23 excellence at the college through the establishment of the Hoover-Perkins Professorship and through their funding of seven 24

1

## H.R. No. 1078

1 awards within the Department of Education Studies; every year, the 2 couple hosts a reception for College of Education faculty to 3 acknowledge their dedicated service to their students, their 4 profession, and the university; and

5 WHEREAS, Beyond their extensive support for the College of Education, Mr. and Mrs. Perkins provided a grant for the JacksTeach 6 program within the College of Sciences and Mathematics to help 7 8 students attain STEM teaching certifications; for two decades, they have also served as lead partners in the Nacogdoches County Chamber 9 Learning 10 of Commerce's Nacogdoches Opportunity for Better Experience program, which awards scholarships to attend SFA to 20 11 12 area students each year; and

13 WHEREAS, Few can claim such an admirable record of leadership 14 and service to a university as Margaret and Jim Perkins, and they 15 may indeed reflect with pride on their many contributions to SFA; 16 now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 18 Legislature hereby congratulate Margaret and Jim Perkins on 19 receiving the 2023 Texas Higher Education Distinguished Service 20 Award and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be 21 it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Perkins as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2