H.R. No. 1080

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Acting swiftly and decisively, a number of Lampasas

County first responders worked together to rescue two children who

3 were trapped inside a cave on March 18, 2023; and

2

13

WHEREAS, At around 5 p.m. that day, two paramedics from

5 Hamilton EMS were dispatched to a location on the Lampasas River,

6 where it was reported that a cave had collapsed with children

7 inside; the first responders on the scene, which included other

8 EMS, fire service, and law enforcement personnel, discovered that

9 the cave was on the opposite side of the river and down an

10 embankment, where the water was several feet deep; and

11 WHEREAS, The rescuers, who swam across the river to reach the

12 victims, faced the danger involved with entering a cave that had a

high probability of collapsing, along with the risks inherent in

14 moving critically injured children across the river to emergency

15 transport; after being safely evacuated from the cave, the two

16 children were assessed to be in stable condition and were

17 transported to area hospitals; in addition to the individuals who

18 heroically placed themselves in harm's way to save the lives of the

19 children in the cave, a number of emergency medical professionals

20 provided urgent care for the victims' injuries; and

21 WHEREAS, Assisting in the effort were paramedics Alexander

22 Haynes and Robert Metheny, EMTs Kyle Keahey and Charles

23 Vandergriff, and paramedic captain Heather Johnson of Hamilton EMS;

24 Wayland Allen, Justin Barkley, Steven Smith, Bailey Harner,

H.R. No. 1080

- 1 Jennifer Lundt, Lexis Hansen, and Chief Cornelia Green of the
- 2 Kempner Volunteer Fire Department; Frank Potter, Morris Wilkins,
- 3 and Captain Colton Baker of the Lampasas Fire Department; Jason
- 4 Collins, Jason Hume, and Sergeant Jerome Ervin of the Lampasas
- 5 County Sheriff's Office; and Aspen Walker of the Kempner Police
- 6 Department; and
- 7 WHEREAS, These exceptional men and women conducted a perilous
- 8 rescue operation with the utmost professionalism, efficiency, and
- 9 courage, and through their actions, they prevented a terrible
- 10 tragedy and earned the heartfelt admiration of a grateful
- 11 community; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby commend the first responders who went above and
- 14 beyond to save two children trapped inside a cave in Lampasas County
- on March 18, 2023, and extend to them sincere appreciation for their
- 16 outstanding service to their fellow citizens.

Spiller

## H.R. No. 1080

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby OrrBailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Cunningham Landgraf Spiller Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Flores Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

	H.R. No. 1080
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1080 was	s adopted by the House on April
20, 2023, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House