H.R. No. 1091

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Collegiate and alumnae members of Delta Sigma Theta 2 Sorority are gathering in Austin on April 17, 2023, to mark Red and 3 White Day, a day of advocacy and action, at the State Capitol; and WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 4 5 13, 1913, at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; the 22 original members included four young women from Texas, Zephyr Chisom Carter, 6 7 Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, and Myra Davis Hemmings, all committed to academic excellence and social change; members 8 9 marched in a women's suffrage parade soon after, and they 10 incorporated as a national organization in 1930; and 11 WHEREAS, The organization, which is proudly marking the 110th anniversary of its founding in 2023, is made up of more than 350,000 12 women in the United States and several foreign countries; it 13 14 encompasses over 1,000 chapters, with many in the Lone Star State; participants work toward positive change in their communities, 15 placing a strong emphasis on the core issues of 16 development, educational development, international awareness, 17 political awareness, and physical and mental health; moreover, 18 Delta Sigma Theta members mentor at-risk young women, conduct voter 19 awareness drives, host political forums, and help guide and inform 20 21 public policy; and 22 WHEREAS, Many members of the sorority have gone on to have 23 distinguished careers in public service, including Texas State

Representatives Toni Rose and Rhetta Andrews Bowers, as well as

24

H.R. No. 1091

- 1 legendary former legislators, such as State Representative Ruth
- 2 Jones McClendon and Congresswoman Barbara Jordan; among the Texans
- 3 who have held significant leadership positions within the
- 4 organization is the sorority's current national president, Elsie
- 5 Cooke-Holmes, who resides in Plano; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The women of Delta Sigma Theta have enriched the
- 7 State of Texas and the entire nation though their advocacy and civic
- 8 engagement, and it is indeed a pleasure to commend them for their
- 9 noteworthy endeavors; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby recognize April 17, 2023, as Red and White Day at
- 12 the State Capitol and extend to all those involved with Delta Sigma
- 13 Theta Sorority sincere best wishes as they celebrate the
- 14 organization's 110th anniversary; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the sorority as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Rose Bowers

H.R. No. 1091

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Noble Harless Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby Orr Bailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Cunningham Landgraf Spiller Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Flores Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

	H.R. No. 1091
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1091 was 17, 2023, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on April
	Chief Clerk of the House