H.R. No. 1172

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Ketny Nicoleau of Sharyland Pioneer High School 2 closed out her senior year of competition in triumphant fashion, winning a state title at the 2023 Texas High School Women's 3 Powerlifting Association 5A Division II State Championships; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Joining the other top high school lifters in Texas at the state meet in Frisco on March 18, Ms. Nicoleau delivered an 6 outstanding performance in the 114-pound weight class; she set 7 Class 5A state records by hoisting 405 pounds in the squat, 225 8 9 pounds in the bench press, and 405 pounds in the dead lift, racking up an exceptional 1,035 total pounds to clinch the state crown; 10 11 moreover, her victory helped the Diamondbacks capture fourth place
- 12 in the team standings; and
  13 WHEREAS, The daughter of Jose and Alicia Nicoleau of Mission,
  14 Ketny Nicoleau joined the school powerlifting team as a junior;
  15 that year, she collected a bronze medal in her weight division at
  16 the 2022 state meet; in addition, she has proudly represented
  17 Sharyland Pioneer High as a member of the track and cross country
  18 teams; and
- WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and Ketny Nicoleau may indeed reflect with pride on this outstanding accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

H.R. No. 1172

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Ketny Nicoleau on winning the state
- 2 title in the 114-pound weight class at the 2023 THSWPA 5A Division
- 3 II State Championships and extend to her sincere best wishes for the
- 4 future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Nicoleau as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Guerra

H.I	₹.	Nο	. 1	1'	72

a 1 5 1 --

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1172 was adopted by the House on April 28, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House