H.R. No. 1224

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Conrado Garcia retired as superintendent of the West
- 2 Oso Independent School District on January 25, 2023, drawing to a
- 3 close an exemplary tenure in education that has spanned more than
- 4 four and a half decades; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Garcia became the West Oso ISD superintendent of
- 6 schools in November 2016, after serving as the interim
- 7 superintendent; prior to taking on his new position, he worked as
- 8 the assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction for the
- 9 district from 2013 to 2014, and he previously spent more than two
- 10 and a half decades with Corpus Christi ISD, where he was principal
- 11 at several campuses; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The role of superintendent requires the commitment
- 13 of public support and effective collaboration with the local school
- 14 board, and Mr. Garcia has worked tirelessly to ensure the best
- 15 possible instruction and resources for pupils in West Oso ISD, to
- 16 promote academic achievement, and to advance the quality of the
- 17 district's schools; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through his unwavering commitment to West Oso ISD
- 19 students and staff, Conrado Garcia has led the way in fostering a
- 20 supportive and challenging educational environment, one that gives
- 21 students a vision of what they might attain if they strive for
- 22 success and that equips them with skills that will help them to
- 23 build fulfilling and productive lives; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

H.R. No. 1224

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Conrado Garcia on his retirement as
- 2 superintendent of West Oso ISD and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 3 for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Garcia as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1224

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1224 was adopted by the House on May 6, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House