## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Denton County lost a trailblazing civic leader with

2 the passing of former county judge Mary O. Horn on April 21, 2023,

3 at the age of 77; and

4 WHEREAS, The daughter of Lieutenant Commander

5 Dr. O. W. Roberts and Mary Ann Roberts, the former Mary Roberts was

6 born in Owatonna, Minnesota, on June 28, 1945; after studying at

7 Mankato State College and earning certification from the Minnesota

8 School of Business, she began working for Braniff International

9 Airways in Dallas as a flight attendant; she rose to become the only

10 woman among the top executives at the airline before starting her

11 own business in 1982; and

13

WHEREAS, On May 6, 1967, she married James Nathan "Jim" Horn,

and they settled in Denton, where they raised two children,

14 Jennifer and Jim; the couple founded the Denton County Republican

15 Party at their kitchen table in 1972, and Judge Horn campaigned

16 energetically for her husband in his successful campaign for a seat

17 in the Texas House of Representatives; in 1993, she became the first

18 woman to win election as Denton County tax assessor-collector, and

19 nine years later, she became the county's first female judge;

20 during an era of phenomenal growth, she worked tirelessly to

21 maintain a low tax rate while improving efficiency and providing a

22 high level of service to residents; she increased budget reserves,

23 paving the way for a AAA bond rating, modernized the county's taxing

24 systems, and made motor vehicle registration more convenient by

- 1 creating an online system; in 2004 and 2008, voters approved two
- 2 bond packages, and she leveraged \$335 million in local funds to
- 3 bring over \$3 billion for road improvements and construction,
- 4 expansion, or renovation of county buildings; she retired in 2018,
- 5 following four consecutive terms, as the longest-serving county
- 6 judge in Denton County history; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Judge Horn shared her expertise in leadership roles
- 8 with a host of local and state organizations, and she was vice chair
- 9 of the Texas Workforce Development Board; she served many terms as
- 10 president of the Denton Republican Women's Club, and she was the
- 11 Texas Federation of Republican Women's 1988 honoree; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Above all, Judge Horn was devoted to her family,
- 13 which grew to include eight grandchildren, Michael, Elle, Knox,
- 14 Francie, Houston, Olive, Morgan, and Ashton; her greatest joy was
- 15 spending time with them, whether attending their athletic events or
- 16 reading stories, singing songs, and making up silly games; and
- WHEREAS, Mary Horn broke down barriers and skillfully guided
- 18 Denton County during a transformative period, and although she will
- 19 be deeply missed, her exceptional contributions will continue to
- 20 resonate in the years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of the Honorable Mary
- 23 O. Horn and extend sincere sympathy to all who mourn her passing;
- 24 and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 3 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Mary Horn.

Stucky

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Allen Neave Criado Allison Noble Harless Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Harrison Ashby Orr Bailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Plesa Hinojosa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Clardy Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slaton Kuempel Cook Slawson Cortez Lalani Smith Craddick Lambert Smithee Cunningham Landgraf Spiller Leach Stucky Darby Leo-Wilson Davis Swanson Talarico Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Tepper Lopez of Cameron Thierry Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thimesch Flores Lujan Thompson of Brazoria Frank Manuel Thompson of Harris Frazier Martinez Tinderholt Martinez Fischer Toth Gamez Garcia Metcalf Troxclair Turner Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza VanDeaver Geren Moody Vasut Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Vo Goldman Morales of Maverick Walle González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wilson González of El Paso Morrison Wu Goodwin Muñoz, Jr. Zwiener

Speaker of the House
nimously adopted by a rising

I certify that H.R. No. 1297 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 28, 2023.

Chief Clerk of the House