H.R. No. 1311

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The State of Texas has a rich cultural heritage, and
- 2 its cemeteries serve as a tangible link to its history; and
- 3 WHEREAS, As Texas has grown and become urbanized, some of the
- 4 state's cemeteries have been lost or forgotten, and their
- 5 accompanying grave markers, if they were ever placed, have decayed
- 6 or have gone missing; remembering and identifying these sites is
- 7 vital to understanding the lives and legacies of those interred in
- 8 them; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Across the state, there are a number of well-known
- 10 unmarked cemeteries, including the Freedmen's Cemetery in Dallas,
- 11 which served as a burial place for formerly enslaved people; there
- 12 are numerous other cemeteries that were used for the burial of
- 13 African Americans and Black Americans who lived under segregation,
- 14 including Horst Plantation Cemetery in Austin and Oakwood Cemetery
- 15 in Tyler; and
- WHEREAS, Many cemeteries remain unknown and unmarked, making
- 17 it difficult to preserve them, and the observance of Unmarked
- 18 Cemetery Day on May 3, 2023, serves to raise awareness of the need
- 19 to identify and protect these important historical sites and to
- 20 honor the memories of those Texans whose final resting places have
- 21 been forgotten; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1311

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize May 3, 2023, as Unmarked Cemetery Day
- 3 and commend all those who are dedicated to the documentation and
- 4 preservation of Texas's historic cemeteries.

Bowers

H.R. No. 1311

Phelan Allen	Guerra Guillen	Murr Neave Criado
Allison	Harless	Noble
Anchía	Harris of Anderson	Oliverson
Anderson	Harris of Williamson	Ordaz
Ashby	Harrison	Orr
Bailes	Hayes	Ortega
Bell of Kaufman	Hefner	Patterson
Bell of Montgomery	Hernandez	Paul
Bernal	Herrero	Perez
Bhojani	Hinojosa	Plesa
Bonnen	Holland	Price
Bowers	Howard	Ramos
Bryant	Hull	Raney
Buckley	Hunter	Raymond
Bucy	Isaac	Reynolds
Bumgarner	Jetton	Rogers
Burns	Johnson of Dallas	Romero, Jr.
Burrows	A. Johnson of Harris	Rose
Button	J. Johnson of Harris	Rosenthal
Cain	Jones of Dallas	Schaefer
Campos	Jones of Harris	Schatzline
Canales	Kacal	Schofield
Capriglione	King of Hemphill	Shaheen
Clardy	King of Uvalde	Sherman, Sr.
Cole	Kitzman	Shine
Collier	Klick	Slaton
Cook	Kuempel	Slawson
Cortez	Lalani	Smith
Craddick	Lambert	Smithee
Cunningham	Landgraf	Spiller
Darby	Leach	Stucky
Davis	Leo-Wilson	Swanson
Dean	Longoria	Talarico
DeAyala Dorazio	Lopez of Bexar	Tepper
Dutton	Lopez of Cameron Lozano	Thierry Thimesch
Flores		
Frank	Lujan Manuel	Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris
Frazier	Martinez	Tinderholt
Gamez	Martinez Fischer	Toth
Garcia	Metcalf	Troxclair
Gates	Meyer	Turner
Gerdes	Meza	VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas	Morales Shaw	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener

	H.R. No. 1311
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1311 2023, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 3,
	Chief Clerk of the House