H.R. No. 1358

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Lisa Roskens of Prosper High School in the Prosper
- 2 Independent School District has received a 2022 Edith Fox King
- 3 Award from the Interscholastic League Press Conference; and
- WHEREAS, Each year, ILPC presents its Edith Fox King Award to
- 5 advisers who have made significant contributions to Texas
- 6 scholastic journalism; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Ms. Roskens currently teaches journalism at Prosper
- 8 High School and also serves as the adviser of the school's online
- 9 newspaper, Eagle Nation Online; under her able guidance, the
- 10 publication has received numerous accolades, including the George
- 11 H. Gallup Award from the Quill and Scroll International Honor
- 12 Society for High School Journalists; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Roskens holds a bachelor's degree in journalism
- 14 and English from Angelo State University, and she taught in Groom
- 15 ISD for more than 17 years before joining the faculty of Prosper
- 16 High in 2018; in addition, she has worked as a full-time journalist
- 17 and freelance writer, and she has been published in a number of
- 18 magazines and newspapers, such as National Geographic Kids and Fort
- 19 Worth Magazine; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Lisa Roskens has worked tirelessly to promote
- 21 journalistic integrity and excellence among her students, and she
- 22 may take great pride in this recognition of her skill, enthusiasm,
- 23 and dedication to her field; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

H.R. No. 1358

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Lisa Roskens on receiving a 2022
- 2 Edith Fox King Award from the Interscholastic League Press
- 3 Conference and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Roskens as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Frazier

H.R. No. 1358

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1358 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House