RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Poultry Federation and Affiliates is 2 celebrating the 100th anniversary of its founding in 2023, 3 providing a fitting opportunity to recognize the organization for 4 its contributions to the state's poultry industry; and

5 WHEREAS, The Texas Poultry Federation and Affiliates traces its origins to 1923, when its founders, Judge Walter Burton, Fred 6 7 Glass, Mrs. Carl Hoffman, M. Johnson, Dr. J. J. Johnson, F. W. Kazmeier, and P. E. Payne, held the first meeting of the Texas Baby 8 9 Chick Association in the Poultry Building at the State Fair of Texas; the group's early membership included 40 hatchery 10 professionals, and in 1947, the organization was renamed as the 11 12 Texas Poultry Improvement Association to better reflect its service to all members of the poultry industry; over the years, the TPIA 13 14 grew to encompass a number of affiliate groups as well, and in 1965, all of the organizations unified to become the Texas Poultry 15 Federation and Affiliates; and 16

WHEREAS, Today, the organization's affiliates include the 17 Texas Allied Poultry Association, the Texas Broiler Council, the 18 Texas Egg Council, the Texas Poultry Improvement Association, and 19 the Texas Turkey Federation; the Texas Poultry Federation and 20 21 Affiliates is the only statewide organization that specifically serves the Texas poultry industry, which contributes approximately 22 23 \$3 billion to the state's economy on an annual basis; the Texas broiler subindustry ranks fifth in the U.S., processes more than 59 24

1

1 million chickens per month, and produces over 4.73 billion pounds 2 of meat each year for the global marketplace; the egg subindustry in 3 Texas also ranks fifth in the nation, producing some 6.16 billion 4 eggs for the global marketplace annually; and

5 WHEREAS, Since its inception, the Texas Poultry Federation 6 and Affiliates has played a vital role in supporting the Texas 7 poultry industry, and in so doing, it has helped to strengthen the 8 economy of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 10 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Poultry Federation and 11 Affiliates on its 100th anniversary and extend to all those 12 associated with the organization sincere best wishes for the 13 future; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 16 Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

2

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1418 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House