## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texas Christian University is celebrating its 150th
 anniversary in 2023; and

3 WHEREAS, TCU was founded in 1873 in Thorp Spring by brothers Addison and Randolph Clark, ministers and teachers from nearby Fort 4 5 Worth; they welcomed 13 students to Add-Ran Male and Female College, and within five years, enrollment reached 450; after 6 7 affiliating with the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), the institution became known as Add-Ran Christian University, and in 8 1895, it moved to Waco; the school soon chose a mascot, the horned 9 frog, and its colors, purple and white; it adopted its present-day 10 11 name in 1902; and

12 WHEREAS, In 1910, a major fire destroyed the main building and badly damaged other facilities; in the wake of that disaster, 13 14 the college accepted Fort Worth's offer of 50 acres and \$200,000 to relocate to the city; on its new campus, the institution 15 flourished, and the end of World War II marked the beginning of a 16 long period of significant growth; TCU purchased an adjoining 17 106-acre golf course and by 1965, it had added more than 25 18 buildings; gaining stature, it toughened entrance requirements, 19 expanded advanced study offerings, and approved Ph.D. programs; and 20

21 WHEREAS, TCU has continued its rise in the 21st century, 22 opening the Campus Commons, including the Brown-Lupton University 23 Union, and establishing the John V. Roach Honors College; Anne 24 Burnett Marion School of Medicine, Fort Worth's M.D. school, has an

1

1 enrollment of 240 and will graduate its first class in 2023; 2 moreover the endowment has passed the \$2 billion mark, and 3 enrollment today is approximately 12,000; and

H.R. No. 1420

WHEREAS, Through the years, TCU has gained a reputation for 4 5 academic excellence, strong traditions, a vibrant student experience, campus culture, and Greek life, and ardent support for 6 student-athletes, who have achieved high recognition; the Horned 7 8 Frogs have been particularly dominant in baseball, making five College World Series appearances in the past 13 years, as well as in 9 10 equestrian events, tennis, and women's soccer, among other sports; the 2022 football team became the first team in Texas to earn the 11 12 opportunity to compete for the national championship in the College Football Playoff; since 2010, the TCU rifle team has won three 13 14 national championships, and it is the only all-female team to win a 15 national title in this coed sport; the men's basketball team has made three NCAA tournament appearances in the last six seasons; and 16

WHEREAS, Today, TCU is a world-class, values-centered private university, comprised of nine schools and colleges, and it has a legacy of creating leaders who shape and improve the world for the greater good; it offers an unmatched student experience and academic environment to students from diverse backgrounds from Fort Worth, the state of Texas, and across the globe; and

WHEREAS, TCU students, faculty, and staff offer valuable research, scholarly activity, artistic and cultural assets, a diverse array of talent, and significant economic benefit to the region and state; the rich history of Texas Christian University is a source of tremendous pride to its network of more than 100,000

2

1 alumni around the world, and this outstanding institution is sure 2 to continue to build on this foundation of excellence in the years 3 to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
Legislature hereby commemorate the 150th anniversary of Texas
Christian University and extend to the TCU community sincere best
wishes for a memorable and meaningful celebration; and, be it
further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the university as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Goldman

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1420 was adopted by the House on May 3, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House