H.R. No. 1426

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For nearly a decade, Unidos Contra la Diabetes has 2 worked to reduce the incidence of diabetes and to promote better 3 care for prediabetic individuals in the Rio Grande Valley; and WHEREAS, In 2014, a coalition of organizations came together 4 5 to address the high rate of type 2 diabetes within the region; together, they are partnering with other organizations 6 7 communities to magnify their collective impact on diabetes prevention and to help connect vulnerable members of the community 8 with prediabetes care, diabetes prevention education, and other 9 10 resources; and 11 WHEREAS, Unidos Contra la Diabetes is 12 integrating primary and behavioral health for people who are at risk of developing diabetes, particularly those in low-income and 13 14 underserved populations; the nonprofit provides support not only to high-risk individuals but also to their families and communities, 15 16 and its systems-oriented approach involves changing policies, practices, and cultural norms to create a healthier community; and 17 WHEREAS, Unidos Contra la Diabetes is an outstanding example 18 of the good that can be accomplished when dedicated organizations 19 20 and individuals come together to advance an important cause, and it 21 is fitting to recognize the group for its outstanding efforts to 22 improve the health and quality of life of area residents; now, 23 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

24

H.R. No. 1426

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Unidos Contra la Diabetes for furthering
- 2 the cause of diabetes prevention in the Rio Grande Valley and
- 3 commend all those who have devoted their time, talents, and
- 4 expertise to promote the organization's mission; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Unidos Contra la Diabetes as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Guerra

H.R. No. 1426

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1426 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House