significant

made

RESOLUTION

Maldonado has

1

WHEREAS,

Dr. Cesar

2 contributions to higher education and workforce development as chancellor of Houston Community College; and 3 WHEREAS, Named chancellor of the six-college system in 2014, 4 5 Dr. Maldonado has fostered an inclusive, supportive culture for students and staff while boosting academic achievement through 6 7 innovative programs; his restructuring of HCC has increased the number of graduates by over 12 percent per year, and the scholastic 8 9 performance of first-year students has improved markedly; and WHEREAS, Dr. Maldonado has established academic partnerships 10 11 that allow students to transition seamlessly to specified four-year 12 programs at such institutions as Texas A&M University, The University of Texas at Tyler, and Stephen F. Austin State 13 14 University; in addition, he has developed partnerships with local industries to open pathways for students eager to enter the 15 workforce after obtaining an associate's degree or certificate; and 16 WHEREAS, Ably steering the institution through such 17 18 challenges as Hurricane Harvey and the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Maldonado has focused on fiscal stability, including debt 19 reduction and strengthening of reserves, as a key element of 20 21 strategic planning; at the same time, he has overseen the expansion of HCC to 19 campuses and facilities; among HCC's 14 new Centers of 22 23 Excellence are the Challenger Learning Center for Space Science and the Resiliency Operations Center; moreover, HCC has been reaffirmed 24

H.R. No. 1490

- 1 twice as an Achieving the Dream Leader College, signaling a solid
- 2 commitment to educational access and quality; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The recipient of numerous honors, Dr. Maldonado was
- 4 presented with the Houston Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Chairman's
- 5 Award; he was also named Most Admired Non-profit CEO by Houston
- 6 Business Journal, and he has been elected to the Philosophical
- 7 Society of Texas, the Texas Tech University Engineering Academy,
- 8 and the Phi Theta Kappa Texas Hall of Fame for Student Engagement;
- 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, Dr. Maldonado brought to HCC an unusual breadth of
- 11 experience; after more than 25 years as a business executive, he
- 12 served as president of Texas State Technical College and as vice
- 13 chancellor for institutional effectiveness and commercialization
- 14 for the TSTC System; he holds bachelor's and master's degrees in
- 15 chemical engineering from Texas A&M University and a doctorate in
- 16 systems and engineering management from Texas Tech University; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Through his adept leadership and commitment to
- 18 excellence, Cesar Maldonado has greatly advanced the important
- 19 mission of Houston Community College; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Cesar Maldonado for his service as
- 22 chancellor of Houston Community College and extend to him sincere
- 23 best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for Dr. Maldonado as an expression of high regard by the
- 26 Texas House of Representatives.

Perez

H.R. No. 1490

Dholan	Chorra	Marke
Phelan	Guerra	Murr
Allen	Guillen	Neave Criado
Allison	Harless	Noble
Anchía	Harris of Anderson	Oliverson
Anderson	Harris of Williamson	Ordaz
Ashby	Harrison	Orr
Bailes	Hayes	Ortega
Bell of Kaufman	Hefner	Patterson
Bell of Montgomery	Hernandez	Paul
Bernal	Herrero	Perez
Bhojani	Hinojosa	Plesa
Bonnen	Holland	Price
Bowers	Howard	Ramos
Bryant	Hull	Raney
Buckley	Hunter	Raymond
Bucy	Isaac	Reynolds
Bumgarner	Jetton	Rogers
Burns	Johnson of Dallas	Romero, Jr.
Burrows	A. Johnson of Harris	Rose
Button	J. Johnson of Harris	Rosenthal
Cain	Jones of Dallas	Schaefer
Campos	Jones of Harris	Schatzline
Canales	Kacal	Schofield
Capriglione	King of Hemphill	Shaheen
Clardy	King of Uvalde	Sherman, Sr.
Collier	Kitzman	Shine
Cook	Klick	Slaton
Cook Cortez	Kuempel Lalani	Slawson Smith
Craddick	Lambert	Smithee
Cunningham	Landgraf	Spiller
Darby	Leach	Stucky
Darby Davis	Leo-Wilson	Swanson
Dean	Longoria	Talarico
DeAyala	Lopez of Bexar	Tepper
Dorazio	Lopez of Cameron	Thierry
Dutton	Lozano	Thimesch
Flores	Lujan	Thompson of Brazoria
Frank	Manuel	Thompson of Harris
Frazier	Martinez	Tinderholt
Gamez	Martinez Fischer	Toth
Garcia	Metcalf	Troxclair
Gates	Meyer	Turner
Gerdes	Meza	VanDeaver
Geren	Moody	Vasut
Gervin-Hawkins	Morales of Harris	Vo
Goldman	Morales of Maverick	Walle
González of Dallas	Morales Shaw	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morrison	Wu
Goodwin	Muñoz, Jr.	Zwiener

	H.R. No. 1490
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No.	1490 was adopted by the House on May 9,
2023, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House