H.R. No. 1500

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sonny Dykes, head coach of the Texas Christian 2 University football team, achieved great success in 2022, guiding the Horned Frogs to the title game of the College Football Playoff 3 National Championship and earning the Associated Press Coach of the 4 5 Year honor in addition to numerous other national awards; and WHEREAS, In his first season at the helm of the program, Coach 6 Dykes engineered a remarkable turnaround for his squad; following a 7 2021 season in which they recorded a 5-7 record, the Horned Frogs 8 9 improved their win total by eight games and were one of the four elite teams to compete for the championship; in the Fiesta Bowl 10 11 semifinal, TCU became the first team from Texas to win a CFP 12 contest, upsetting the No. 2-ranked University of Michigan 13 Wolverines in a thrilling 51-45 shootout to advance to the national 14 championship game; at the end of the season, Coach Dykes garnered a host of prestigious accolades, including selection as the Coach of 15 16 the Year by the AP; and WHEREAS, The son of legendary Texas Tech University football 17 18 coach Spike Dykes, Sonny Dykes began his collegiate coaching career at Navarro College, and he went on to work as an assistant coach at 19 the University of Arizona, Texas Tech, and the University of 20 21 Kentucky; he took over a struggling Louisiana Tech program in 2010, 22 and in his second season, he was selected as the Western Athletic 23 Conference Coach of the Year as the Bulldogs won the WAC 24 Championship and earned a trip to the Poinsettia Bowl; in advance of

H.R. No. 1500

- 1 the 2013 season, he became head coach at the University of
- 2 California, and under his direction, the team's offense set a
- 3 modern-era record for points scored and shattered several school
- 4 records; his first assignment at TCU came as an offensive analyst in
- 5 2017, and he then spent four seasons as head coach at Southern
- 6 Methodist University, where he greatly improved the team's fortunes
- 7 before taking charge of the Horned Frogs' program; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Born in Big Spring, Mr. Dykes received his
- 9 bachelor's degree in history from Texas Tech in 1993 and was a
- 10 member of the Red Raiders baseball team for two seasons; in all his
- 11 endeavors, he enjoys the love and support of his wife, Kate, and
- 12 their three children, Ally, Charlie, and Daniel; and
- WHEREAS, Through his leadership and expertise, Sonny Dykes is
- 14 furthering the tradition of football excellence in North Texas, and
- 15 his many accomplishments are indeed deserving of commendation; now,
- 16 therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby congratulate Sonny Dykes on being named the
- 19 Associated Press Coach of the Year for 2022 and extend to him
- 20 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Coach Dykes as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Geren

H.R. No. 1500

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Neave Criado Allen Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Ashby Harrison OrrBailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Hinojosa Plesa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Clardy Sherman, Sr. Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slawson Kuempel Cook Smith Cortez Lalani Smithee Craddick Lambert Spiller Cunningham Landgraf Stucky Leach Swanson Darby Leo-Wilson Talarico Davis Tepper Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Thierry Lopez of Cameron Thimesch Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thompson of Brazoria Flores Lujan Thompson of Harris Frank Manuel Tinderholt Frazier Martinez Toth Gamez Martinez Fischer Troxclair Garcia Metcalf Turner VanDeaver Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza Vasut Geren Moody Vo Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Walle Goldman Morales of Maverick Wilson González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wıı González of El Paso Morrison Zwiener

Muñoz, Jr.

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 1500
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1500 was	adopted by the House on May 10,
2023, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House