H.R. No. 1501

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A group of 11 dedicated students from The University 2 of Texas Rio Grande Valley have rendered outstanding service to the 3 Texas Legislature during the 88th Session as participants in the 4 Rio Grande Valley Legislative Internship Program; and

5 WHEREAS, This initiative offers students at the university an 6 opportunity to learn about the legislative process and to gain 7 valuable experience while putting their skills and knowledge to 8 work; and

9 WHEREAS, Each participant is placed with a legislative office and is immersed in an environment that combines academic rigor with 10 11 real-world responsibility; individuals selected for this 12 prestigious program work full-time during the session and must also complete a six-hour political science course for academic credit; 13 14 and

WHEREAS, This year's class of interns includes Hector Chapa, 15 16 who is working in the office of Representative Sergio Muñoz Jr., Zeila Chavez in the office of Senator Judith Zaffirini, Lizette 17 Galaviz in the office of Representative Armando Martinez, Mireya 18 Garcia in the office of Representative Erin Gámez, Roberto Garcia 19 20 in the office of Representative Terry Canales, Anthony Hernandez in 21 the office of Representative Janie Lopez, Karina Lucio in the office of Representative Bobby Guerra, Derek Luna in the office of 22 23 Representative Oscar Longoria, Sontino Mann in the office of Representative Ryan Guillen, Jocelyne Montelongo in the office of 24

1

H.R. No. 1501 1 Senator Morgan LaMantia, and Matthew Rodriguez in the office of 2 Senator Chuy Hinojosa; and

3 WHEREAS, The members of this notable group have performed 4 their duties as legislative interns with great skill and diligence, 5 and they are indeed deserving of special recognition for their fine 6 work; now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 8 Legislature hereby commend the participants in the Rio Grande 9 Valley Legislative Internship Program for their contributions to 10 the Texas Legislature and extend to them sincere best wishes for 11 continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for the interns as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives.

> Guerra Lopez of Cameron

2

H.R. No. 1501

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 1501

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1501 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House